Daddy's Fried Corn and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This makes an excellent side dish! I made this recipe "as is", however as some users stated I might add either some bacon or a diced jalapeno for some extra kick. Pairs well with the Turkey Cheeseburger Meatloaf recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I like onions, but this was overpowering. I followed the directions, but it just wasn't good. I won't let it go to waste -- I will use in a soup where the onion taste will be masked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerra Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
What is this!!! So simple yet sooooo tasty. Lovely thanks to Daddy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I have been making this this quick, tasty recipe for years, but I sauté the onions in bacon grease first,(Whaaa, what was that, ohhh, it was the audible sound of the healthy eats police gasps). I then add the corn and some butter to finish it up. Fresh sweet corn season is so short, we usually have this 2 or 3 times a year, and LOVE it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Bricks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Did not care for this at all. The onions gave it a sort of sweetened and almost pickled taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Very good, made just as recipe was written. everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
The title made this out to be a little more than it ended up being in the taste department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Pretty good, used frozen corn defrosted in the microwave, then added to the sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Simple and good. :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I love this awesome way to cook fresh corn. Hubby does too, and asks me to fix it this way every time. I do saute the sweet onion (Walla Walla or similar) in butter until translucent, then I add the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States