Daddy Charles's Spooley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Excellent! I did as others posted and added a little cranberry juice. Very good, knocked me on my @$$...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Did not care for this drink, was like a flat fruit punch taste to me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were good. We didn't make a huge amount of these instead we made them by the glass, as reviewer Lillian suggested. After two of these, we couldn't remember the name of them and we were calling them "Uncle Charlies Sloopy". FAIL! -HA, but that is its new name in my house. We made them again the next night and added a splash of pineapple juice on the top which I liked even better. This will make a great summer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
We did not really care for this - perhaps it was the punch we used, but it tasted too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Sounds way too sweet with that fruit punch in it, most of those are almost sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Good stuff. I made it first with Cranberry/ pomegranite juice that I had on hand. Wasn't crazy about it. Went a got the fruit juice and it made a huge difference. Thanks for the post. I will be using this one frequently. Thanks also to Lillian for posting the "by the drink" measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
fantastic drink. a new favorite! i myself like a sweet drink. all i changes was that i added as and extra fruit punch and cup of orange juice. great drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is very good! It tastes like a really good sangria! I made this by the glass using 2oz. Rum, 2oz. dry red wine, 4oz. red fruit punch, 3 oz. club soda, 1/2 tsp. fresh lime juice, 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice...and I served it in a wine glass instead of a "red plastic cup"! After drinking a couple of these you will feel "loopey"...as we call it! It really does sneak up on you, so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This stuff was great! In anticipation of being snowed in this weekend, I thought this would be fun to make since we would not be going anywhere. My husband and I both LOVED it! It goes down really easy, so you need to be careful since it is quite potent. I made it exactly as the recipe said and wouldn't change a thing. We are both looking forward to making it on a hot summer day, but it made our snow bound weekend much more tolerable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Delicious and refreshing. Great for a party!!! Cannot taste the alcohol and I don't even normally like rum at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Grog

It’s sweet. It’s sour. And with the rum, packs a big green wallop.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Black Ginger Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a spiced rum cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States