D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
THIS is the authentic, real, you-haven't-lived-until-you've tried it Old Fashioned Chicken n' Dumplin's. When we talk C n' D in the South THIS is what we're talking about. Takes longer, because you make your own broth...but it am the real thing! Mm-hmm! Very close to My Grandma's recipe -- and she ran a boarding house back in turn-of-the-century Waxahachie, Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amb1580
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe is fantastic and yes, the dumplings are the flat noodle type, like those served at CrackerBarrel. The ones who rated this so low were obviously looking for a different type of dumpling (they need to try good old Jiffy, the recipe is right on the back of the box). I am a mommy so I don't like to spend all day in the kitchen so this is what I do: I buy a cooked rotisserie chicken, get all the meat off and put it in the pot along with all drippings from the container, and 2- 32 oz. containers of chicken broth (8 cups total) plus 4 cups of water with 4 tsp. of chicken boullion granules. This makes 12 cups. Then add the poultry seasoning, seasoned salt, and pepper. Boil and add dumplings. When the dumplings are about done, thicken with about 1 cup of flour mixed with 3/4 - 1 cup of cold water if you like it thicker (like me)! This recipe is very quick, as long as you have your dumpling dough prepared ahead of time and ready to go! It's a 30 minute meal from start to finish! I don't even use the veggies cooked in margarine and it tastes wonderful, it doesn't need any additional seasoning and it's nice to have it without the bones in it. The dumplings are so tender! ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This recipe is it! It's the recipe that my grandmother took to her grave. The only thing I did different was to cook the chicken the day before, remove the chicken and let the broth get cold so I am able to scoop the fat off the top of the broth, ew. I used 1 extra teaspoon of shortening in the dumplings and sage as suggested by another member. They were actually better the second day than they were the first. Oh, and I did thicken the broth with flour to broth and return to the stock. Was just wonderful! Happy cooking! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This is the best chicken and dumplin receipe I've ever tried! It is just as good if not better than my mother in law's....but dont tell her I said so! The only thing I did different was that after my chicken cooked....I deboned it then added it back to the pot with the dumplins. Also I simmered the dumplings for about 30-40 min until they were tender.....adding just a sprinkling of flour to thicken. The whole family loved it! This is my ONLY chicken and dumpling receipe now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Thanks for sharing this recipe !!! This is how my Grandmother makes them, I wouldnt even think about putting carrots or lemons in it ..... If you want a puffier dumpling use self rising flour, If you want a thicker soup, mix some of the broth in a seperate bowl with flour then add to pot. This recipe is the authentic chicken and dumplins' that I know and love....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Yum-O! These dumplings were just the right texture. I 'upped' the soda and salt to 1/2 tsp. each, and it was perfect. I will definitely be using this recipe all the time. Thankyou!! Dana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
I added carrots and celery and a bay leaf to broth as it cooked. Also rolled the dumplings very thin and increased cooking time, as they were still rather chewy after 15 minutes. Delicious over mashed potatoes! Thanks for the great recipe! I mixed 3 Tbsps. corn starch and 1/4 cup water for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I've eaten great dumplings in my life, but this recipe I thought was really lacking. Way too much watery broth. I was quite disappointed! I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I adored this recipe! I am from Texas originally and this is very similar to the C and D's that I grew up eating. I have been looking for a recipe for rolled dumplings for years and this dough is PERFECT for rolling out! I did make a few changes. I added coarse ground pepper and parsley flakes to the dumpling dough 'cause I like them like that. I also sliced potatoes super thin and added them the last 30 minutes before I added the dumplings. I also tossed in some baby carrots and green beans the last 30 minutes as well. Even my Midwest husband enjoyed this recipe and the leftovers the next day are INCREDIBLE! Absolutely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I am a Chicken and Dumplings fan, but I found nothing exciting about this recipe. The dumpling were too flat and the chicken lacked flavor. I live many of the suggestions made in previous reviews. I agree that the recipe needs carrots, but I chose to serve carrots as a side dish. I will admit that I chose not to add the seasoned salt because most of these products contain MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States