D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I have followed this recipe and made it a dozen times. Every time I'm left with an empty pot. The only things I do different are I add sage and black pepper to the dough, (I'm a pepper freak.) People who say it was too watery just need to sprinkle a little flour or corn starch in and let it simmer out. Making it today and I know it will disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Delish - but I did make a couple of small changes (4 Tbls shortening, used boneless chicken and used 2 tsp poultry seasoning). I used all of the dumplings and added flour to thicken liquid. I also made my dumplings in a food processor using the same process as when I make pie crust. Quick and Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
They were OK. They did have the comfort food feel that I was looking for, but were otherwise rather bland and had a rather goopy feel in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I've eaten great dumplings in my life, but this recipe I thought was really lacking. Way too much watery broth. I was quite disappointed! I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This was the first time I tried this recipe and it tastes JUST LIKe my Grandmothers. It is now a family favorite. It's a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Thanks for sharing this recipe !!! This is how my Grandmother makes them, I wouldnt even think about putting carrots or lemons in it ..... If you want a puffier dumpling use self rising flour, If you want a thicker soup, mix some of the broth in a seperate bowl with flour then add to pot. This recipe is the authentic chicken and dumplins' that I know and love....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I adored this recipe! I am from Texas originally and this is very similar to the C and D's that I grew up eating. I have been looking for a recipe for rolled dumplings for years and this dough is PERFECT for rolling out! I did make a few changes. I added coarse ground pepper and parsley flakes to the dumpling dough 'cause I like them like that. I also sliced potatoes super thin and added them the last 30 minutes before I added the dumplings. I also tossed in some baby carrots and green beans the last 30 minutes as well. Even my Midwest husband enjoyed this recipe and the leftovers the next day are INCREDIBLE! Absolutely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I am a Chicken and Dumplings fan, but I found nothing exciting about this recipe. The dumpling were too flat and the chicken lacked flavor. I live many of the suggestions made in previous reviews. I agree that the recipe needs carrots, but I chose to serve carrots as a side dish. I will admit that I chose not to add the seasoned salt because most of these products contain MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I'm not sure what I did wrong with this one. I followed the directions to a T. Seems more like .. Soup or something. I served it on top of egg noodles. The kids seemed to like it. Not sure if I will brave chicken and dumplings again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was wonderful, but could have used some potatoes added about 1/2 hour before you add the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States