D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I agree w/ a few of the other reviews....use all of the dough for dumplings, remove about 3 cups of stock and mix it w/ one can of cream of chick. soup. Also boil dumplings atleast 30 min In the South we don't put carrots, potato's or season salt in our dumplings. But this recipe did need more salt, poultry seasoning and or boullion. The basics are there, but needed extra seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very good! I had never made chicken and dumplings from scratch, and this was easy and yummy. My 4 yr old said we should make this every night! I used what I had in the freezer- 3 legs and it turned out great. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe is just like my grandma's and it is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. Just finished with it for the first time and it is great. I did add some corn starch dissolved in water to thicken the broth a bit and let it all simmer on low for a couple of hours to meld all of the flavors together but other than that it is wonderful. Reminds me of what my grandmother used to make years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I knew from experience the dumplings would be too flat so I added 3 teaspoons of baking powder (1 teaspoon per cup of flour). The broth needed a lot of tweaking for our taste. I added some garlic powder, bouillon, then ended up adding 2 cans of Cream of Chicken Soup. Took a couple laddles of broth out of the pot and whisked with the soup before adding to the pot. I keep trying to find a Chicken and Dumpling recipe that does not take all day as my regular recipe does but I guess I just need to stick to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This recipe is it! It's the recipe that my grandmother took to her grave. The only thing I did different was to cook the chicken the day before, remove the chicken and let the broth get cold so I am able to scoop the fat off the top of the broth, ew. I used 1 extra teaspoon of shortening in the dumplings and sage as suggested by another member. They were actually better the second day than they were the first. Oh, and I did thicken the broth with flour to broth and return to the stock. Was just wonderful! Happy cooking! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I think I did something wrong with this recipe. The dumplings were heavy and not as light as I would have liked I think I will try somehting diffrent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
These were alright, but I think that I will stick with my other recipe. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was absolutely fantastic! I had always 'cheated' when making dumplings and used can biscuit dough. My husband said it was {this} close to tasting as good as his Gramma's. Easy to make with wonderful results! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I've never made nor saw chicken and dumpling before. my husband is from the south and grew up on these, which happens to be his favorite meal. I was so worried about making these being that I have never had them before and or seen them. I followed the recipie to the T and my husband loved them! they were just like his ( now deceased ) Mom used to make. Thank you do much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States