D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The Best. Simple and exactly what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
there are 2 types of dumplings, these are the chewy strip type, they do have a great flavor, but I prefer the fluffy biscuit type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Guess as a Northerner I'm more accustomed to a light, fluffy dumpling. This one is firm, substantial, almost chewy. The flavor is wonderful, but for anyone looking for an airy, pillowy dumpling, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Dumplings are easy to make! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe as a starter. I too added carrots, as I am used to them in my chicken and dumplings. I was surprised that these were more noodle dumplings than the airy biscuit type. Since this dumpling was new too me I didn't have much to go on as to how "cooked through" should look or taste. A little bit more direction on this would have been nice. Otherwise it was tasty and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TXtonya
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is the closest recipe I could find to how I think my grandmother prepares hers. I won't say it was as good as hers, but it was pretty darn tasty! I used homemade chicken stock. The flour from the dumplings thickened the stock into a pefect gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I am the proof that this recipe is a keeper. I moved from NY to NC and never, ever made chicken and dumplings before. I gave it a try hoping it wasn't a flop. After trying it and liking it I recruited my southern friends to try and low and behold, they all loved it. PS. One friend said "it doesn't taste like a woman from NY made this".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The dumplings were great !! but the chicken was lacking in flavor i browned the chicken and seasoned the chicken before i added the water this gave the chicken much more flavor and also needed to use some more seasonings and i also used a can of cream of chicken soup came out great everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Yummy! I reserve 5 stars for only the drop dead, I ate it all myself before anyone else could get any recipes but this dish really is tasty. I made this dish minus the onion and celery and it was very good. The Dumplings were not at all doughy, I think those who had that experience may not have had dumplings before. My grandmother passed but she used to make chicken and dumplings from scratch and this recipe took me back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It so did not work for me, the dumplings were gross and slimy. I never had it before, so maybe it would have been easier to know how the stuff was supposed to have to look and taste finished. So i will give you only 3 stars as a seasoned cook like myself lind of bombed it. Bit i am determined to one day try it when somebody who makes it a lot cooks it and then retry making it. Your recipe is probably really awesome - just me who didn't know how to do it and what i was shooting for in a result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States