D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was my first ever attempt at rolled out dumplings because I have always used the drop dumplings because of less mess. These dumplings turned out fantastic and were well worth the effort. I do like lots of dumplings though so next time I will use the entire dough recipe. Because the final result was thinner than I like I add a can of Cream of Celery soup and a little more flour to the mixture. I also added a few sliced baby carrots for color and some parsely and two chicken bullion cubes for flavor. The taste was fantastic. The best part was the left overs the following day. Just the right consistency and absolutey fabulous taste. I am making again to take to my Mothers for dinner tomarrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerluver1277

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
perfect.. this is my first attempt at dumplings and my guys think they are "the bomb".. thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
The chicken part was very good but the dumplings were just short of terrible. They were flat, doughy and chewy. I questioned whether the recipe said baking powder instead of baking soda as they didn't raise at all but it says baking soda so that's what I used. Maybe southerners like them like that but even Bisquick is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
SIMPLY THE BEST!! This reminds me of the Chicken N' Dumplings my grandmother used to serve at big family dinners 30 years ago. The dumplings were great, just the way I remember...I've been searching for a recipe like this one for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Authentic southern recipe! My daughter said "this is awesome!" and everyone else raved about it. After The Chicken was done cooking I removed it from the broth and added 4 sliced carrots. As they were cooking I removed the meat from the bones and added it back to the broth, then thickened the broth with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I liked it a lot. need to thicken the sauce for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is awesome. Made it exactly as stated the first time. I've made it a dozen times now and this is what makes it perfect for me: Make sure the dumplings are no thicker than 1/8th inch. Cut them into dime sized squares. Simmer for at least an hour or refrigerate overnight. The simmering/sitting makes a huge difference in the texture of the dumpling. Also, I usually use boneless skinless chicken breasts and some bullion and it turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The Best. Simple and exactly what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
there are 2 types of dumplings, these are the chewy strip type, they do have a great flavor, but I prefer the fluffy biscuit type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States