D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was very much like my grandmother's. I felt the dumplings needed something so like someone else did I added sage but should have added more salt. I think they needed a little more baking soda to and needed to cook much longer. I was never that crazy about my grandmother's chicken and dumplings. It's too much of a soup for my taste. My 95 year old father loved it though. I did thicken it with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Amazing recipe, the same one I have used for years. This recipe has been passed down for generations. Thank you for sharing and reminding me of the treasures I have in my old family cookbooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donalsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I loooooove the Cracker Barrel style Chicken n Dumplings and this recipe delivers just what I wanted. In order to shorten the cooking time and avoid a bony broth, I pre-cooked some chicken breasts that I dry-rubbed with the seasoning salt, cut them up and put them in the broth to cook for about 30 minutes. Unfortunately I did not roll out the dumpling dough thin enough and they didn't cook through, which just made them taste floury. My mistake! I slowly added handfuls of flour to the broth to thicken it up a bit and upped the amount of pepper for some extra zest. They were delicious! Planning on making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemBot

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Great tasting! Need to half the dumpling recipe next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Absolutely perfect! I wouldn't change a thing...husband said to put it in the Favorite Recipes book so I will be making this again often. Thank you "Sis T" for a fabulous dinner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
D'best for sure! My family can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NO2JROF4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
the flavor was great...but i am one of those who was looking for the silver dollar size thicker chewy dumplings, so thats how i made mine...also i had to add quite a bit of flour to thicken it up but aside from these 2 issues everything was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thehappyglutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! My whole family loved it. I made a few minor changes and will possibly make a few more next time as well. When I made my stock, I sauteed the chicken and the veggies a little before adding the water so I can get as much flavor as I possible. I added a carrot and a bay leaf when making the stock. When it was done, I strained the stock to removed all the cooked veggies. I cut up more carrots, celery and onions and sauteed them a little to bring out the flavor, then added the stock back to the pan. I also added flour to the stock as others had suggested. Next time I will make sure to cook the stock the day before and refrigerate so I can skim the fat off and possibly add Sage to the dumplings as someone else had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Was ok... I added whole peppercorns to the stock while boiling...a recipe I will use to fall back on when I don't have cream of chicken soup, otherwise I will use a different recipe on this website that calls of the cream of soup. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica_Farr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olean, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States