Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Okay, so I am a czech cook. This is a traditional czech meal; however, do NOT use a traditional Czech beer in this or the sauce will come out bitter tasting. There is no need for the onions, just keep adding water and keep the sauce from drying out and burning. The sauce from the pork is rich enough without onions. I cook this meal at least every few weeks, thought I would try this version....not so great compared to other czech ways (season the pork with salt/pepper/garlic POWDEr/caraway..add water and roast slowly for 300-325 for 4-6 hours until tender! Drain sauce and thicken if desired (some don't even thicken so the dumplings soak up the juice from the sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
10 stars! I didn't have any beer (for once) so I used beef broth instead. I would recommend cutting back on the salt, if using beef broth, because the gravy was really salty. But DELICIOUS! The pork was so juicy and tender! I halved the recipe, but used a 3 lb roast. I am so happy with the way it turned out. The rub was absolutely incredible with the pork. I made Fabulous Fried Cabbage to go with it. Simply awesome! I've had this recipe in my box for quite some time, but never got around to making it until now. Thank you so much for the recipe, Sonya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a huge fan of roast pork, and this is really, really good. I followed the recipe as it was. The technique of roasting it covered, then turning, scoring the fat and roasting UNCOVERED (which I wish the recipe would more specifically state in step 4. Good cooks can take a lot of knowledge for granted) works perfectly, and the crispy squares of fat were scrumptious. You crockpot cookers will miss out on that. One thing though. Check periodically that the bottom doesn't burn, and add some water. If you have a decent meat thermometer, I don't see how anyone can go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I so happy everyone is enjoying this dish...a true family favorite. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amarook
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is an outstanding recipe! I chose to make it in my Nesco 6 quart roasting oven. Because of this the cooking time changed a little. I started it at around 250 degrees. Flipped it over after the hour, then turned the heat up to 350. After about an hour I started checking it with the meat thermometer. Within an hour it was around 155. We weren't ready to eat yet, so I turned the temp down to 200 and let it go for another 20 minutes. When I checked it again the temp was around 175. I then pulled the roast out an let it sit while I made the gravy according to the directions. My husband said this was the best pork roast he's ever had. I only used 2 medium sized onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amarook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious recipe! I made it for a Sunday dinner for company tonight and it was DIVINE! Only thing I did differently was add a whole can of beer, added carrots and two stalks of celery to the base with the onions, and in the last hour of cooking with the lid off, I added large cubed, seasoned potatoes to roast with the rest of the goodies (tossed them in olive oile and them gave them a shake of herbs de provaunce and seasoned salt). I didn't think I'd care much for the carroway seeds, but they blended in nicely with the mustard and spices. Thanks so much for the recipe! Practically a one pot meal! I fried up some fresh cabbage and we were set. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was great! I put it in my crock-pot for the whole day and it was perfect. I skimped a bit on the caraway, as I'm not the biggest caraway fan, but could've used it all (crock-potting can sometimes cause herbs and spices to lose potency). For the gravy, I removed some pan drippings into a saucepan and added the cornstarch to some cold beef broth before mixing in. I didn't need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
OMG!!! This recipe is to die for! The infussion of caraway and garlic into the gravy really highlight the pork. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Man Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Oh my gosh does this meal top the list!!!! I am czech and always enjoyed when my mom would make pork roast and dumplings. Everything about this meal is comfort food. Would you happen to have the recipe for the dumplings. I've tried myself from semi-translated czech cookbooks with little luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I prepared this pork for a christmas party for 200 people it was awesome everyone loved it thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States