Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Delicious! Loved the flavor of the caraway seeds. Carved up the leftover meat and heated it in the gravy next day which was also yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a huge fan of roast pork, and this is really, really good. I followed the recipe as it was. The technique of roasting it covered, then turning, scoring the fat and roasting UNCOVERED (which I wish the recipe would more specifically state in step 4. Good cooks can take a lot of knowledge for granted) works perfectly, and the crispy squares of fat were scrumptious. You crockpot cookers will miss out on that. One thing though. Check periodically that the bottom doesn't burn, and add some water. If you have a decent meat thermometer, I don't see how anyone can go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Wonderful recipe, even without the caraway seeds and sauerkraut that I didn't have on hand. I did mine in the crockpot with great results. Will try again now that I have all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This has become my favorite recipe for Roast Pork. The combination of flavors perfectly compliments the pork! Thanks for this recipe. I cannot imagine anyone not liking it, unless they were brought up on "Hamburger Helper". I did however make one substitution. My Mom who is in her late eighties does not like knedliky. So I substitute Potato Dumplings. I personally like both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very tasty and juicy! Fell right apart. I made it with Knedliky - Czech Dumpling with Sauerkraut (Zeli) (that was fabulous, too!). Thanks for sharing and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amarook
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is an outstanding recipe! I chose to make it in my Nesco 6 quart roasting oven. Because of this the cooking time changed a little. I started it at around 250 degrees. Flipped it over after the hour, then turned the heat up to 350. After about an hour I started checking it with the meat thermometer. Within an hour it was around 155. We weren't ready to eat yet, so I turned the temp down to 200 and let it go for another 20 minutes. When I checked it again the temp was around 175. I then pulled the roast out an let it sit while I made the gravy according to the directions. My husband said this was the best pork roast he's ever had. I only used 2 medium sized onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amarook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Sorry, but it was NOT a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Hart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The first time I made this I didn't have caraway so I used paprika. I also placed it in my crock pot for about 5 hours on high. It kept all the liquid in so I strained the liquid, thickened it as per the recipe directions, and then added the onions back in. Yum! The second time I made it I followed the directions exactly (in the oven, open roasting pan) and while the taste was good, the juices/beer evaporated and all I was left with in the pan was roasted onions. No liquid. I think I prefer the crock pot method b/c it allowed for a wicked yummy gravy. Both times I made it, there was not a speck of pork left. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My whole family loved this. I did omit the caraway seeds because I didn't have any. It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Delicious! I cut this recipe in half for two people and it was great on a cold fall evening served with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States