Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious recipe! I made it for a Sunday dinner for company tonight and it was DIVINE! Only thing I did differently was add a whole can of beer, added carrots and two stalks of celery to the base with the onions, and in the last hour of cooking with the lid off, I added large cubed, seasoned potatoes to roast with the rest of the goodies (tossed them in olive oile and them gave them a shake of herbs de provaunce and seasoned salt). I didn't think I'd care much for the carroway seeds, but they blended in nicely with the mustard and spices. Thanks so much for the recipe! Practically a one pot meal! I fried up some fresh cabbage and we were set. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe surprised me by how well it turned out. The meat was very moist, tender and flavorful (even though it did look rather gnarly coming out of the oven). My gravy was sweeter that I expected. Was that from the beer? The caraway seeds? It was also slightly bitter, but not in a bad way. I served it with mashed potatoes and roasted Brussels sprouts. My husband and daughter raved. (I only used 1 T of caraway, subbed olive oil for veg oil, and added the whole beer to the pan.) The house smelled great while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was an awesome dish:) Even my husband was happy with it and he is not a big pork person. I made the recipe as is so could rate it based on the recipe. It was yum, but for my husbands personal prefrence we will use 1 tbsp of the caraway seed next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was great! I put it in my crock-pot for the whole day and it was perfect. I skimped a bit on the caraway, as I'm not the biggest caraway fan, but could've used it all (crock-potting can sometimes cause herbs and spices to lose potency). For the gravy, I removed some pan drippings into a saucepan and added the cornstarch to some cold beef broth before mixing in. I didn't need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was a very nice dish. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Yum! This was delicious. My mother-in-law is Czech, so I thought it would be fun to make something Czech for dinner. I did halve the caraway seeds, and used chicken broth instead of beer. The house smelled wonderful while this was roasting, and the gravy was awesome. I served this with Grated Potato Dumplings (unfortunately those were not well received), and green beans. We can't wait for it to cool down so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I have made some wonderful dishes from this site.I have not had a better response than with this recipe. The only thing I changed was to add sauerkraut to the roast during the last hour.I also rinsed the sauerkraut to remove some of the tartness which reminded me of the sauerkraut that I fell in love with while stationed in Germany. I agree this is a traditional European old country style dish. Thank you Sonya. I am ready for more. Chef Roy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This I thought was a tasty dish. I think next time I will use a pork tenderloin instead of the shoulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We used to live in the Czech Republic, so I was glad to find a recipe for this roast pork. My husband walked in the door and said, Something smells like Prague! This was fabulous. My whole family enjoyed the meal - even my picky eaters. I did halve the caraway seeds and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because I am not a cooker of roasts. The flavor from the recipe was WONDERFUL (rather porketta-ey), the cooking (up to me) was not so good. My tweeks in the recipe included using grainy mustard and beef stock instead of beer (only had a lite beer on hand) and attempting to cook it low and slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States