Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
this was soo delicious. i omitted the onions and just added ground onion the the spice rub and well as mustard seed instead of prepared mustard. i had a 71/2 pounder, so i cooked it for an hour upside down( covered) at 350F then flipped it over, scored it and put it back in the oven at 350F (uncovered) again this time for five hours occasionally basting the roast in with the drippings in the pan. when the juices start getting too low, just add more water. i cook pork about 40 minutes for every pound. it was so tender it just fell apart if you pulled on it, no knives needed here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Fabulous! I was afraid that the caraway would be too much; however, the mustard, onions and beer melded wonderfully with the flavour of the caraway and the meat. Served for family dinner and all loved it! Meat was very tender, sauce was delicious! Will definitely make again. The recipe needs NO changes or additions at all. Hard to improve on perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I loved it the caraway seeds didn't overpower it.I served it with mashed potato dumpling and applesauce made with craisons and walnuts.I used a pork shoulder roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
The first time I made this, I was really goofed. I used the ingredients for a five pound roast on a roast half the size...and I added a whole bottle of beer. I wasn't certain about the mustard so I used powdered. It was great. It was the best pork roast I have ever eaten. I am Croatian. I have eaten my share of pork roasts! It was the foundation to build on. Thank you for that. I am making the roast now only I am using the proper amounts. It can only be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Thought this recipe was simple and tasty. The only thing is that my roast was still not as tender as it should be. I think I will take the suggestion of cooking it at a lower temperature for a longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is a good basic roast recipe bc the meat was perfectly tender. However, I gave it a 3 b/c of two things: 1) You may not be a huge fan of the caraway seeds. Although it was fairly tasty and different -- its more of a one-time dish, as is. Next time I will replace the caraway seeds with a differenct herb or spice. Even if you like caraway seeds, I would highly recommend using less of them bc/ they were overpowering and the seeds kept getting stuck in my teeth; 2) The recipe did not render sufficient "gravy" . The gravy was delicious and I would have loved more of it! Note: I added potatoes and carrots to the pan after the one hour mark. They were delicious and this turned it into essentially a one-pot meal. Bottom line: I would keep it as a great standard roast recipe which you could personalize by replacing the caraway seeds with your favorite herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was okay - fine for a meal but I probably won't make it again. The caraway flavor was a little overpowering for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wow - impressively tasteful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very tasty! I come from a Czech family and can remember the smell from the oven growing up on Sunday's. I used Stella Artois for the beer and followed all directions. This may turn into our normal Sunday dinner meal! The gravy tastes good on the pork as well as mashed potatoes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States