Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I made it yesterday because my son and grandson were coming for dinner and they like roast pork. Bottom line? There was about enough left for 2 skimpy pork sandwiches. Wonderful flavor and dark gravy that was a delight on garlic mashed potatoes. We also had baked squash and cottage cheese/pineapple salad. I tried to follow the directions as closely as possible but had to substitute cardamom for caraway. A site I read said that cardamom was stronger than caraway so use half the amount, which I did. I love the flavor of cardamom so next time I'll use the full measurement. I always have cardamom on hand because I make jul brod for Christmas. They also suggested dill seed as a sub. Time got away from me so I had to roast it at 375F. and an hour shorter time. I ended up putting all the beer plus a little water in the pan to keep it from drying out (thus, the dark brown gravy)and it was all just wonderful. Thanks to whoever submitted this recipe because it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great!!! My husband says it is the best meal he has had!! Make sure to make it with the sauerkraut and dumplings also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by templina71
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Wow, I don't know which was better, the roast or the gravy. The roast was tender and flavorful. The gravy was rich and also flavorful even though we forgot the butter. We used only one onion and left out the caraway as no one in our family enjoys that flavor. We were looking for something different and found a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I didn't care for the taste, tasted like rye bread, very tender, big G liked but prefers our regular way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My family really enjoyed this. I used a 4 pound roast and reduced the time a little, it came out really tender and yummy. I cut the caraway in half as well because I thought 2 tbs would be to overpowering, I think the one tbs was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe followed exactly as written. The meat was great, gravy was great and the onions are incredible. Served this with dumplings and sauerkraut. I used Sam Adams Boston Lager as the beer and I can't get over the flavor that those onions had. We served them as a side to go with the meat, dumplings and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
All that I can add to the many reviews on this outstanding dish is ..... WOW!!! you have got to try this one. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Roast was very good. I used Shiner Bock beer and added a little bit more when I turned the roast over. The rub was very good and the roast turned out tender and moist. The sauce was great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Love love love...used anise seed instead of caraway seed as they are both from the parsley family with strong licorice flavor, Shocktop beer ( belgian white wheat with citrus undertones), fresh garlic and a Boston butt cut. Cooked overnight in the crockpot and the meat just fell apart. The smell was absolutely incredible. This is on my special occasion list now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Having heritage in Eastern Europe (Poland) I found this recipe and just had to try it. Made it for a family dinner and my sisters and my husband (who is English/Irish) loved it. This is the 3rd time I have made it and decided I really should give a rating to give credit to the contributor. I made it following the recipe but since a number of family has problems with salt intake, I cut the salt to 1 tsp and the pepper to 1 tsp. It was great and I have received so many complements that I must give credit to the cook! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppylover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States