Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Good stuff! Great flavor, I didn't find the caraway to be overwhelming at all. I didn't have time to let the paste sit on the roast for 30 minutes, but am looking forward to making this again and doing so. Served with mashed potatoes, sourkraut and green peas. Everyone in the family ate their supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Great recipe! I did omit the beer, because I didn't have any in the house. Substituted a like amount of white wine, which seeemd to work just fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
tried this today for the family and they loved it.will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rotherham, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
good flavor... will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris53182

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was a great recipe. I cooked it for 40 minutes in a pressure cooker, though, using the same amount of beer. The meat came out really soft. My husband is from Slovakia and he just loved this dish with Knedla and zeli. This will be our regular from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Once again, thank you Sonya! This was delicious with your dumpling and sauerkraut recipe (Knedliky). I am rating it a four only because my hubby and son are not used to European cooking and found the 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds too much for them (much to my dismay) but they loved the onion based gravy otherwise. Thanks for restoring some of my heritage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Okay, so I am a czech cook. This is a traditional czech meal; however, do NOT use a traditional Czech beer in this or the sauce will come out bitter tasting. There is no need for the onions, just keep adding water and keep the sauce from drying out and burning. The sauce from the pork is rich enough without onions. I cook this meal at least every few weeks, thought I would try this version....not so great compared to other czech ways (season the pork with salt/pepper/garlic POWDEr/caraway..add water and roast slowly for 300-325 for 4-6 hours until tender! Drain sauce and thicken if desired (some don't even thicken so the dumplings soak up the juice from the sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I was really looking forward to making this roast after reading the great reviews. Sadly, this did not go over well at my dinner table. I think it was just too different for my meat and potatoes family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great recipe the only thing I changed was I added horseradish. Man did that ever do the trick for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Oh my gosh does this meal top the list!!!! I am czech and always enjoyed when my mom would make pork roast and dumplings. Everything about this meal is comfort food. Would you happen to have the recipe for the dumplings. I've tried myself from semi-translated czech cookbooks with little luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States