Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was an awesome dish:) Even my husband was happy with it and he is not a big pork person. I made the recipe as is so could rate it based on the recipe. It was yum, but for my husbands personal prefrence we will use 1 tbsp of the caraway seed next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was great! I put it in my crock-pot for the whole day and it was perfect. I skimped a bit on the caraway, as I'm not the biggest caraway fan, but could've used it all (crock-potting can sometimes cause herbs and spices to lose potency). For the gravy, I removed some pan drippings into a saucepan and added the cornstarch to some cold beef broth before mixing in. I didn't need the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was a very nice dish. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Yum! This was delicious. My mother-in-law is Czech, so I thought it would be fun to make something Czech for dinner. I did halve the caraway seeds, and used chicken broth instead of beer. The house smelled wonderful while this was roasting, and the gravy was awesome. I served this with Grated Potato Dumplings (unfortunately those were not well received), and green beans. We can't wait for it to cool down so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I have made some wonderful dishes from this site.I have not had a better response than with this recipe. The only thing I changed was to add sauerkraut to the roast during the last hour.I also rinsed the sauerkraut to remove some of the tartness which reminded me of the sauerkraut that I fell in love with while stationed in Germany. I agree this is a traditional European old country style dish. Thank you Sonya. I am ready for more. Chef Roy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This I thought was a tasty dish. I think next time I will use a pork tenderloin instead of the shoulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We used to live in the Czech Republic, so I was glad to find a recipe for this roast pork. My husband walked in the door and said, Something smells like Prague! This was fabulous. My whole family enjoyed the meal - even my picky eaters. I did halve the caraway seeds and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because I am not a cooker of roasts. The flavor from the recipe was WONDERFUL (rather porketta-ey), the cooking (up to me) was not so good. My tweeks in the recipe included using grainy mustard and beef stock instead of beer (only had a lite beer on hand) and attempting to cook it low and slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Delicious! Loved the flavor of the caraway seeds. Carved up the leftover meat and heated it in the gravy next day which was also yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a huge fan of roast pork, and this is really, really good. I followed the recipe as it was. The technique of roasting it covered, then turning, scoring the fat and roasting UNCOVERED (which I wish the recipe would more specifically state in step 4. Good cooks can take a lot of knowledge for granted) works perfectly, and the crispy squares of fat were scrumptious. You crockpot cookers will miss out on that. One thing though. Check periodically that the bottom doesn't burn, and add some water. If you have a decent meat thermometer, I don't see how anyone can go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States