Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I grew up on this stuff and it's definitely my comfort food. I make it with lean country style pork ribs that I cut in chunks and put tn in 1 layer in a roasting pan. Then I mix it with salt, pepper, garlic paste, chopped onions and sprinkle with caraway seeds and add little bit of water. then I roast it on 350 with a lid and turn the meat to get some color. Serve it with boiled or mashed potatoes and czech or german style pickles. It's very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Made this tonight and it was a HUGE hit with family and guests. Followed the recipe pretty closely, but added a little more garlic seasoning and onion powder to the paste. I used a picnic shoulder. Gravy-hating hubby LOVED the gravy, especially since I added all the onion chunks to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was ok, but there are better pork recipes out there. My husband thought this tasted like rye bread and he found that disquieting. He seems to be the only person who thinks that though. The gravy was really awesome though. I shook some of the drippings in a jar with the cornstarch before adding to the the rest of the gravy to prevent chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This came out better than I expected. The only change I'd suggest is to scrape the paste off of the roast before slicing. The taste of the paste is a bit overpowering if there is a lot of it remaining on the outside slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Perfect! Easy, tasty and wonderful flavors! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Prepared this dish for 01/01/2010 New Years Day dinner for my daughters (2) and their families. Boy was it a HIT. Received so many compliments, thanks Sonya for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was wonderful, though I made a few adjustments as well. First I reduced the reip to 4 servings and went with the directions from there. I needed to increase the beer to 1/2 cup just to cover the onions. The recipe wasn' clear to me about removing the foil; so i left it off then decided after one hour to cover again because it was looking dry. Near the end, it still looked dryer than I thought it should be (out of beer) so I soaked it with a little Bourbon:) OMG the taste was out of this world! I don't know exactly what the secret was but my guess was keeping it moist with whatever looked/smelled like it would fit! I will make this again for special company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious recipe! I made it for a Sunday dinner for company tonight and it was DIVINE! Only thing I did differently was add a whole can of beer, added carrots and two stalks of celery to the base with the onions, and in the last hour of cooking with the lid off, I added large cubed, seasoned potatoes to roast with the rest of the goodies (tossed them in olive oile and them gave them a shake of herbs de provaunce and seasoned salt). I didn't think I'd care much for the carroway seeds, but they blended in nicely with the mustard and spices. Thanks so much for the recipe! Practically a one pot meal! I fried up some fresh cabbage and we were set. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe surprised me by how well it turned out. The meat was very moist, tender and flavorful (even though it did look rather gnarly coming out of the oven). My gravy was sweeter that I expected. Was that from the beer? The caraway seeds? It was also slightly bitter, but not in a bad way. I served it with mashed potatoes and roasted Brussels sprouts. My husband and daughter raved. (I only used 1 T of caraway, subbed olive oil for veg oil, and added the whole beer to the pan.) The house smelled great while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was an awesome dish:) Even my husband was happy with it and he is not a big pork person. I made the recipe as is so could rate it based on the recipe. It was yum, but for my husbands personal prefrence we will use 1 tbsp of the caraway seed next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States