Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
4 1/2 stars. I added (drained) jarred sauerkraut around the roast. Mmmm and served with store bought pierogis. Yum. 14 March 2011 I heated up the left overs of this roast tonight. I can't remember for the life of me why I hadn't given it the full 5 stars. This is going to be my go-to European-style pork roast from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I have Made this 2 times now , It is Great !!!! Only thing i did different was Cut back on the Salt , added A Whole beer to the pan ,to make more gravy , YUMMY !!! I would Give it 10 stars,But it won't let me !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passinbye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very close...as a Slovak cook having grown up with traditional czech/slovak dishes, I was happy to come across this recipe. Like the Czech Cook, I also omit the beer (just use water or it will be bitter), and mustard usually, although cooking pork with mustard is good for tenderizing and adds nice flavor...good for a change. One thing, you CANNOT omit the caraway...it is what makes this dish!! Or the garlic! Also adding other vegetables and different spices will change it completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Wonderful dish. The caraway seeds add a delicious layer of flavor to the whole meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avenel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
made this for dinner around christmas and fell in love with it immediately. can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve. My grandpa was Czech and his roast pork, cabbage and dumplings was a family favorite. This was my first time doing a roast pork and this recipe was pretty simple. It tasted very similar to Grandpa's roast pork and was very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Love it--easy and tasty. I loved all the caraway seeds, buy my husband found them excessive. I may cut them down a little next time. Subbed olive oil for veg; used sirloin pork roast. Made the gravy too--excellent. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Was unable to 'slice' the pork - kind of 'fell apart' as I tried to slice. Maybe my knife blade wasn't sharp enough. The sauce definitely made this a 5* - absolutely fabulous taste to the gravy. The pork wasn't bad either - might add more caraway next time - could barely taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is the best pork roast we have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This pork was delicious, came out as moist as can be and had great flavor! I accidentally over peppered the meat, used 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons, but I had split it between white pepper and mixed up pepper, so it didn't overpower and actually added a nice spicy note, will definitely make this again. I used Saffron flavored Goya seasoning instead of salt and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States