Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Was unable to 'slice' the pork - kind of 'fell apart' as I tried to slice. Maybe my knife blade wasn't sharp enough. The sauce definitely made this a 5* - absolutely fabulous taste to the gravy. The pork wasn't bad either - might add more caraway next time - could barely taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is the best pork roast we have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This pork was delicious, came out as moist as can be and had great flavor! I accidentally over peppered the meat, used 2 tablespoons instead of 2 teaspoons, but I had split it between white pepper and mixed up pepper, so it didn't overpower and actually added a nice spicy note, will definitely make this again. I used Saffron flavored Goya seasoning instead of salt and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Thank you for such a wonderful meal. My entire familt devoured it, even my picky 5-year-old. I used the beer I had in the fridge at the time and what a wonderful flavor. I have been so sick of the same old foods I have been cooking for years, I am very glad I have stepped outside the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I had about a 2 1/2 lb roast, so I cut the 'rub' ingredients in half. I cooked this roast at 325 for about 3 1/2 - 4 hours, I added more beer about halfway through as the first bit that I put in had cooked off. In the end, after removing the pork, I added 1/4 cup of white wine along with nearly 1 cup of water to the onions and little bit of liquid in the pan. when it was boiling, I made a 'beurre meunier" with the cornstarch/butter and stirred that into the sauce. The end result was really flavorful, delicious, fall off the bone pork that even my kids liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was fabulous! I forgot the veg oil, but it didn't affect the flavor...just made the paste a little thicker (used stone ground brown mustard). :) I used a 6.5lb boston butt roast, two onions instead of three, and omitted the beer. I did add a few cups of water to the roasting pan--enough to reach about 1/4 way up the side of the roast. I also nixed the butter and cornstarch in favor of a little Wondra flour/water slurry for the gravy. The spices were perfect, and adding water to the pan beforehand made gravy a cinch--it needed no extra salt or stock, just a little thickener. The onions added so much flavor. Perfect!! (I did strain the solids and fat out of the drippings before reducing for gravy). Since my meat was bigger, it took about 4 hours to cook. But it was delicious, and I will most certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Great recipe! I'm really into trying new flavors and the caraway seed was one I haven't worked with much yet. Very yummy indeed!! My only gripe would be with the salt involved in the rub. It was way too salty!! I'd reduce it from 1Tblsp to as little as 1 Tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I grew up on this stuff and it's definitely my comfort food. I make it with lean country style pork ribs that I cut in chunks and put tn in 1 layer in a roasting pan. Then I mix it with salt, pepper, garlic paste, chopped onions and sprinkle with caraway seeds and add little bit of water. then I roast it on 350 with a lid and turn the meat to get some color. Serve it with boiled or mashed potatoes and czech or german style pickles. It's very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Made this tonight and it was a HUGE hit with family and guests. Followed the recipe pretty closely, but added a little more garlic seasoning and onion powder to the paste. I used a picnic shoulder. Gravy-hating hubby LOVED the gravy, especially since I added all the onion chunks to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was ok, but there are better pork recipes out there. My husband thought this tasted like rye bread and he found that disquieting. He seems to be the only person who thinks that though. The gravy was really awesome though. I shook some of the drippings in a jar with the cornstarch before adding to the the rest of the gravy to prevent chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States