Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My husband is a true meat-and-potatoes man who HATES to try anything new. So when I want to serve something different, I never tell him what it is or what ingredients are in it. Last night I prepared the Czech roast pork along with fried cabbage (a vegetable he NEVER eats unless it comes with corned beef!) and added two cans of unsalted baby potatoes to the roast during the last hour of baking. (I first coated them with olive oil, dill weed, garlic powder and a little paprika to add some color.) He LOVED IT!! (even when he learned about the caraway seeds, the beer and the other unusual ingredients!) I think this dish has finally convinced him that "maybe" he should be less inflexible where new foods are concerned. Thank you for a great receipe that I WILL be making again over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I just tried this in the crock pot. It was very tasty, moist. I think the next time I make it I will either do the oven method or brown the meat a little before hand. For sides I did Sauerkraut with shredded apple, two whole cloves and about 1/4 cup white wine and Spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Awesome and so very easy! Did i mention how incredibly wonderful my house smells too?! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I never have beer in the house so I used ginger ale! The rub was especially wonderful. The meat was tender, juicy and full of flavor. I needed no added butter to make the gravy, in fact I skimmed most of the fat off before using a bit of water to mix with the cornstarch. Just excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Nice cold weather meal. It's a nice alternative to the usual way I cook pork roast. The leftover gravy made a great additive to a chicken dish I made the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Loved this recipe. I used a 2 pound sirloin pork roast, since that's what I already had at home. I used a whole bottle of Harvest Moon beer & added carrots to the pot. I used Gouldens mustard. This was moist & delicious. I was very pleased with how the flavors blended. We spooned some of the juices over the meat rather than making gravy. The carrots & onions, after simmering in beer were really good too. Served it with cabbage & noodles & fresh baked rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was easy and so good. I roasted it on 350 convection and it was a bit overdone 2 hrs after turning it over--next time I'll watch it a little more closely. This is really good with homemade applesauce, braised cabbage, and pierogis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Sunday Dinner. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I grew up on this every Sunday. Try it with with leg of lamb too. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States