Czech Roast Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
My dog Maggie loved it too! Only half of my family got to try this delicious roast before our dog stole it and devoured it. But I will definitely make it again...and put the dog in her crate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyncote, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This dish is now my "signature dish" to cook for family get togethers. Simple, delicious, and fun. My mom has called me multiple times for this recipe. I have cooked this for first dates and it is always a hit. This is the recipe that made me a believer in this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was amazing!! As one other said don't skimp on the caraway seed. It ready made the dish! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Exceptional. Don't miss this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I tried this with a 7lb pork roast. Came out awesome! I recently made this again only difference I used pork country ribs instead of the pork roast. All the other ingredients were the same IT WAS DA BOMB!!! BOOM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sussex
Photo by mya_papaya2002
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was okay. It was different for sure. There wasn't anything WRONG with it, it was good, just not anything super good or special! It was kind of neat to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mya_papaya2002
Home Town: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent recipe. Reduced caraway seed to 1 Tbsp., used Budsweiser Beer, only had 1 large onion. Amazing when scoring the pork when turning over as instructed - it separated into beautiful diamond squares that ultimately seared to crunchy yummies (chicharrones). Served with the recipe for Czech Cabbage Dish by dlynn11. Will definitely keep in the repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. I made it yesterday because my son and grandson were coming for dinner and they like roast pork. Bottom line? There was about enough left for 2 skimpy pork sandwiches. Wonderful flavor and dark gravy that was a delight on garlic mashed potatoes. We also had baked squash and cottage cheese/pineapple salad. I tried to follow the directions as closely as possible but had to substitute cardamom for caraway. A site I read said that cardamom was stronger than caraway so use half the amount, which I did. I love the flavor of cardamom so next time I'll use the full measurement. I always have cardamom on hand because I make jul brod for Christmas. They also suggested dill seed as a sub. Time got away from me so I had to roast it at 375F. and an hour shorter time. I ended up putting all the beer plus a little water in the pan to keep it from drying out (thus, the dark brown gravy)and it was all just wonderful. Thanks to whoever submitted this recipe because it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great!!! My husband says it is the best meal he has had!! Make sure to make it with the sauerkraut and dumplings also found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by templina71
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Wow, I don't know which was better, the roast or the gravy. The roast was tender and flavorful. The gravy was rich and also flavorful even though we forgot the butter. We used only one onion and left out the caraway as no one in our family enjoys that flavor. We were looking for something different and found a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States