Czech Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe, although I would use it as a side dish to accompany a chicken dish such as chicken paprika or simply a roasted chicken. I did alter it a bit... I used olive oil instead of veg. oil, and I sauteed the cabbage with the rest of the veggies rather than blanching it. Instead of the white vinegar I opted for white WINE vinegar. I tasted it out of the pan and thought it to be a little bland, so I then added garlic powder and some paprika. I love the taste of cabbage and sour cream, so I served this in bowls with sour cream dots on the edges of the bowls. The end result was delicious! A great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I made this for a homesick Czech friend, and he swears it tastes just like home. However, I added extra celery (you want to use mature, flavorful outer celery stalks, not the soft inside ones), extra green pepper and extra onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Outstanding! Very fresh-tasting, and flavorful; we both loved it. Only thing I did differently was to skip step 1; mostly because I'm lazy. :) Still, all turned out well! Thanks for the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I just loved it because it tasted like the inside of an egg roll, but without the greasy egg roll flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This was a wonderful cabbage dish! I did not blanch the cabbage first; i simply added it to the skillet with the other vegetables and cooked it until it was wilted. i also omitted the tbsp of oil, as i thought the bacon grease was plenty. I did not have white vinegar, so I used cider vinegar, and it worked out fine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I also skipped the blanching step.This was a savory treat,loved by all who came to dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Made this and brought it into work. Everyone was hesitant to try it, but they all seemed to really like it. I think it's great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tioga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was wonderful, a really delicious cabbage dish. I used turkey bacon instead of pork and it was still really flavorful. Just make sure to fry the bacon, not microwave (yuck!). I did as other reviewers suggested and just threw the cabbage in with the veggies to cook and it turned out wonderfully. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I finally tried this as a guy who enjoys the cabbage. My wife actually ate it and very much enjoyed it. It is tough to please her food wise. I'm rating this as a 5, simply as cabbage dishes go this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Easy to make and really tasty. I cooked the cabbage with the vegetables like some others have done and it turned ot great. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States