Czech Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I made this for a homesick Czech friend, and he swears it tastes just like home. However, I added extra celery (you want to use mature, flavorful outer celery stalks, not the soft inside ones), extra green pepper and extra onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This was a wonderful cabbage dish! I did not blanch the cabbage first; i simply added it to the skillet with the other vegetables and cooked it until it was wilted. i also omitted the tbsp of oil, as i thought the bacon grease was plenty. I did not have white vinegar, so I used cider vinegar, and it worked out fine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I had to make this dish because my husband absolutely loves cabbage. He literally could not stop eating it! The only change I made was to add more vinegar to give it more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
We like cabbage in general, but this was especially delicious. It is my favorite kind of cooking--simple, fast, with lots of flavor. I subbed mushrooms for the celery, red pepper for the green pepper, cider vinegar for the white vinegar (those are what I had on hand and my general preferences anyway). I took a bit of a short cut with the preparation and just threw all the veggies in the pan to saute together without cooking the cabbage first (okay, I'm lazy). My husband and I practically licked the bowl clean. Thanks for sharing a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Didn't care for this at all. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I'm sure it was my fault. I guess I really overcooked the cabbage because it was soft and didn't use real bacon. I subbed turkey bacon cooked in the microwave. Didn't have celery so had to leave that out and used cider vinegar instead. I put a little sugar in it, but didn't help any. I guess I can't complain because I didn't follow the recipe at all. Oh well, guess I'd better learn a lesson from this one. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I just loved it because it tasted like the inside of an egg roll, but without the greasy egg roll flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great. Used all ingredients called for except for the oil - I poured off some of the bacon fat - left enough to use without adding oil - wanted bacon flavor. I also just ended up cooking the cabbage with the veggies at the end. I added the vinegar as soon as I put the veggies in the skillet to scrap up the bacon bits at the bottom of the skillet. I also added a teaspoon of sugar. It is wonderful the next day too. Love it cold. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Outstanding! Very fresh-tasting, and flavorful; we both loved it. Only thing I did differently was to skip step 1; mostly because I'm lazy. :) Still, all turned out well! Thanks for the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This tasted very authentically Czech, remniscent of the vegetable side dishes my husband and I were served in Prague. I made the recipe exactly as written (blanching the cabbage until it was tender but not completely limp) and it was perfect as is. We did add more salt at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I added more bacon and celery, as well as red pepper and celery seed. Didn't need extra oil. Everyone liked this dish including my husband, who hates cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States