Czech Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I had to make this dish because my husband absolutely loves cabbage. He literally could not stop eating it! The only change I made was to add more vinegar to give it more of a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
We like cabbage in general, but this was especially delicious. It is my favorite kind of cooking--simple, fast, with lots of flavor. I subbed mushrooms for the celery, red pepper for the green pepper, cider vinegar for the white vinegar (those are what I had on hand and my general preferences anyway). I took a bit of a short cut with the preparation and just threw all the veggies in the pan to saute together without cooking the cabbage first (okay, I'm lazy). My husband and I practically licked the bowl clean. Thanks for sharing a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Didn't care for this at all. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I'm sure it was my fault. I guess I really overcooked the cabbage because it was soft and didn't use real bacon. I subbed turkey bacon cooked in the microwave. Didn't have celery so had to leave that out and used cider vinegar instead. I put a little sugar in it, but didn't help any. I guess I can't complain because I didn't follow the recipe at all. Oh well, guess I'd better learn a lesson from this one. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This was a wonderful cabbage dish! I did not blanch the cabbage first; i simply added it to the skillet with the other vegetables and cooked it until it was wilted. i also omitted the tbsp of oil, as i thought the bacon grease was plenty. I did not have white vinegar, so I used cider vinegar, and it worked out fine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I also skipped the blanching step.This was a savory treat,loved by all who came to dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I made this for a homesick Czech friend, and he swears it tastes just like home. However, I added extra celery (you want to use mature, flavorful outer celery stalks, not the soft inside ones), extra green pepper and extra onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Made this and brought it into work. Everyone was hesitant to try it, but they all seemed to really like it. I think it's great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tioga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This was wonderful, a really delicious cabbage dish. I used turkey bacon instead of pork and it was still really flavorful. Just make sure to fry the bacon, not microwave (yuck!). I did as other reviewers suggested and just threw the cabbage in with the veggies to cook and it turned out wonderfully. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I finally tried this as a guy who enjoys the cabbage. My wife actually ate it and very much enjoyed it. It is tough to please her food wise. I'm rating this as a 5, simply as cabbage dishes go this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Easy to make and really tasty. I cooked the cabbage with the vegetables like some others have done and it turned ot great. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States