Czech Cabbage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. My first attempt at "Capushka" and my whole family loved it. However I made slight changes. Changed 1/4 to 1/2 pound bacon, 2 celery stalks, yellow bell pepper, and added caraway seeds to the mix. Also left about 2 tablespoons of bacon drippings with the one tablespoon of veg oil to saute the vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I thought this was very good i think i added more vinegar to make it more flavorful, i also think that more bacon would have been really good. It was a bit greasy but that i my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Made this a couple of weeks ago, but didn't realize I was out of vinegar before I started. So I substituted a sweet vinegar and olive oil dressing instead, and it was delicious!! Jason ate most of the pot full and declared it was "awesome".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I just loved it because it tasted like the inside of an egg roll, but without the greasy egg roll flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Outstanding! Very fresh-tasting, and flavorful; we both loved it. Only thing I did differently was to skip step 1; mostly because I'm lazy. :) Still, all turned out well! Thanks for the keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This tasted very authentically Czech, remniscent of the vegetable side dishes my husband and I were served in Prague. I made the recipe exactly as written (blanching the cabbage until it was tender but not completely limp) and it was perfect as is. We did add more salt at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Hmmmm...As written, it was a bit too vinegary for my taste--but I added a bit more oil and a bit of sugar at the end to even out the taste. I also cooked the cabbage with the vegetables and skipped the blanching step. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe, although I would use it as a side dish to accompany a chicken dish such as chicken paprika or simply a roasted chicken. I did alter it a bit... I used olive oil instead of veg. oil, and I sauteed the cabbage with the rest of the veggies rather than blanching it. Instead of the white vinegar I opted for white WINE vinegar. I tasted it out of the pan and thought it to be a little bland, so I then added garlic powder and some paprika. I love the taste of cabbage and sour cream, so I served this in bowls with sour cream dots on the edges of the bowls. The end result was delicious! A great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Easy to make and really tasty. I cooked the cabbage with the vegetables like some others have done and it turned ot great. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States