Cute Egg Chicks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
good, kinda funny tasting, might want to leave out curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
very cute. Received lots of ooohs and aaahs at our family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Would like to try the presentation at some point, but just made as regular deviled eggs and liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made these eggs for a party where everyone who attended is a deviled egg connoisseur. Five stars for the taste and texture of the filling, I subtracted one start because I wasted three whole eggs trying to figure out how to cut the top off just right. I ended up cutting the top off diagonally which worked out well and allowed me enough room to remove and fill the yoke section of the hollowed egg without incident. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
love the idea....didn't turn out quite as perfect as the picture however. it wasn't terribly time consuming to make them, but i think my olives were too big, making the chicks faces look just bizarre! :) as for the egg recipe, it was a nice change, but i think we all agreed we prefer it without the curry powder. just the mayo, dry mustard powder, sprinkle of paprika version is what we grew up with and i think the simplicity rules in this case. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
To all who had trouble cutting the eggs I have found a very simple solution that works wonders. I sliced the egg 1/3 way down from the narrow end. Took it apart and took the yolks out. I then used small scissors and cut the zig-zag pattern on each top. So easy and they don't fall apart. I also used peppercorns for the eyes and red pepper for the beak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
My mom and I made these for Easter and they were very cute. We used the piece cut from the bottom of the egg - and cut smaller circles to use as eyes and colored them blue. We also used black olives. Very festive. Will probably use again next year. Thanks for the cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good recipe, I only made one of the chicks and cut the rest of my eggs in the normal way. they tasted great and the one chick egg was placed in the center of my serving tray and worked GREAT when I placed plastic wrap over my dish, it was taller and kept the plastic from sticking to the regular eggs. From now on I will make at least one chick for the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I am always impressed with the creativity and talent of the cooks on this website. For me, these were fragile and tricky to do, but who cares? They are too cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I did half a recipe to test this out. I found the procedure to be a little tedious. The eggs have to be cut just right for yolk to come out easily. I had to go a little lower than 1/3 down on the ones that worked. And, the filling had to be set just right to get the olives to lay correctly. I am not a fan of curry powder but used it because I thought it was meant for coloring. I think they would have been better leaving out the curry powder and parmesan cheese as it gives it a slightly odd texture. I don't normally buy stuffed green olives and couldn't find anything smaller than a 7 oz jar for the few needed, unfortunately. Of the 3 that turned out they were cute! It was fun to try but would be too much work to take to a party. My advice for success at these overall: is use the same filling you use for your favorite deviled eggs and cut the pattern slightly lower than 1/3 down and these will work out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States