Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharmon Trahan
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
For those who found the recipe to crumbly, I have some advice to mix better: first cream shortening and sugar together, then add egg and vanilla and mix well until creamy. Then mix flour,baking powder and salt.Add dry to wet ingredience a little at a time until you are able to mix it all in. Save the confectioners sugar for the glaze! Wonderful cookie, my kids loved them and I even took a picture for the web site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I think some reviewers added the powdered sugar as part of the cookie recipe. All that is needed to bring the dough together is a bit of milk. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar. It's a great roll out recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
There is something missing from this recipe the dough is crumbly and is not able to be roled out for cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I followed advice about creaming together teh shortening and sugar first, then adding eggs and vanilla. I then, slowly mixed in the dry combination of flour, baking powder, and salt. This ended up terrific! I have perfect cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Followed advice of others and creamed sugar and shortening first, added dry later. Used exact amounts of flour. Rolled like a dream and tasted like the bakery cookies we get at Publix. Glaze was good, too, and it dried well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I think i figured out what the dough needed. First cream shorting,eggs,sugar,vanilla, Second add only add (3 cups of flour instead of 3 1/2) flour,salt,baking powder,salt. And do not use the powder sugar and water in cookie dough its for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A rating of 3 only. If I could, 2&1/2 stars is my true rating.The flavor of the cookie itself is good, however the dough is not easy to roll out due to a dry texture. I tend to think this recipe is missing milk. After Iw baked a dozen with the recipe as is, I added about 2-3 tbsp of 1/2&1/2 to the already mixed dough, worked it in well with my hands to get a more plyable dough. THEN I was able to easily roll the dough and cut-out cookies. I will not use this recipe again - too much trouble/work. I will stick with my current rolled sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This dough was awful-I couln't even roll it out without it crumbling. I would never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My 13 year old daughter made these while my husband and I were at a Christmas party. They were awesome! I was very impressed. She did not read the reviews first, so when I read them I was surprised at the negative remarks. I asked her about the dough being crumbly and she said she just had to press it together with her hands to form a ball before she rolled it out. She used pre made frosting to decorate so this rating is for the cookie only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
These cookies were impossible to roll out for cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States