Cut-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharmon Trahan
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
For those who found the recipe to crumbly, I have some advice to mix better: first cream shortening and sugar together, then add egg and vanilla and mix well until creamy. Then mix flour,baking powder and salt.Add dry to wet ingredience a little at a time until you are able to mix it all in. Save the confectioners sugar for the glaze! Wonderful cookie, my kids loved them and I even took a picture for the web site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharmon Trahan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I think some reviewers added the powdered sugar as part of the cookie recipe. All that is needed to bring the dough together is a bit of milk. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar. It's a great roll out recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
There is something missing from this recipe the dough is crumbly and is not able to be roled out for cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I followed advice about creaming together teh shortening and sugar first, then adding eggs and vanilla. I then, slowly mixed in the dry combination of flour, baking powder, and salt. This ended up terrific! I have perfect cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Followed advice of others and creamed sugar and shortening first, added dry later. Used exact amounts of flour. Rolled like a dream and tasted like the bakery cookies we get at Publix. Glaze was good, too, and it dried well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I think i figured out what the dough needed. First cream shorting,eggs,sugar,vanilla, Second add only add (3 cups of flour instead of 3 1/2) flour,salt,baking powder,salt. And do not use the powder sugar and water in cookie dough its for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A rating of 3 only. If I could, 2&1/2 stars is my true rating.The flavor of the cookie itself is good, however the dough is not easy to roll out due to a dry texture. I tend to think this recipe is missing milk. After Iw baked a dozen with the recipe as is, I added about 2-3 tbsp of 1/2&1/2 to the already mixed dough, worked it in well with my hands to get a more plyable dough. THEN I was able to easily roll the dough and cut-out cookies. I will not use this recipe again - too much trouble/work. I will stick with my current rolled sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This dough was awful-I couln't even roll it out without it crumbling. I would never make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My 13 year old daughter made these while my husband and I were at a Christmas party. They were awesome! I was very impressed. She did not read the reviews first, so when I read them I was surprised at the negative remarks. I asked her about the dough being crumbly and she said she just had to press it together with her hands to form a ball before she rolled it out. She used pre made frosting to decorate so this rating is for the cookie only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
These cookies were impossible to roll out for cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States