Cut-Out Cookies Made with Oat Flour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Finally got around to trying these out and they are great. Due to health reasons hubby can't eat white or whole wheat flour so I substituted 1/3 brown rice flour, 1/3 oat flour and 1/3 quinoa flour and used raw honey. They are one of the best cookie recipes I've tried on thsi web site. I even threw in flax seed and used almond milk. The grandson loves them also. Thx for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
As a pastry cook, I can honestly say that this is one of the easiest cookie doughs I have ever rolled out. It cuts out beautifully and tastes delicious! To increase the fibre in it for my family, I actually ground up 1 cup oats and 1/4 cup oat bran instead of the 1 1/4 c. oats. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
These cookies are SO, SO good! Do NOT skimp out on the Oat Flour...it is KEY!! They are very simple tasting, not filled with complexity, yet completely savory. They are a perfect treat for children and adults to make together for the holidays, or as an "anytime snack". These cookies can be cut very thin, or somewhat thick...just watch them closely in the oven to see that they don't burn or "over brown". Use just a small amount of icing, for these cookies only need a tiny amount, just enough to get your decorations to stick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Great recipe! Super easy to roll and cut. The first batch was very bland, so I added 1 small box of instant french vanilla pudding to the second batch and it was perfect. Thank you for the awesome recipe Liz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This was a very easy recipe, and the dough rolled out great, just allow the dough to warm up some after taking it out of the refrigerator, I found it easier to roll the warmer it was, and they were also tasty, Just watch, because I didn't keep my eye on them the first batch and they browned a little to fast, so I watched the rest and they came out perfect, everyones ovens are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is my favorite cut out cookie. Not only does it taste great, but the dough is super easy to work with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a ''cool'' base recipe for our house. Always loving the extras in life, we added brown rice syrup or date sugar, instead of 'sugar'. Brown rice flour and oat flour and oat bran plus baking soda plus flaxseed chopped in the coffee grinder saves us from our wheat allergies, and we added a touch of rice milk too. Lemon extract rather than vanilla, and blueberries, apricots, and cranberries we added for fruity taste. Gosh, I have to go eat another, lo! (We love the brown rice syrup substitute for the sugar, which with the butter is super awesomely tasty, wooo! We love this basic recipe given, as it gives us a base to be creative and extraordinary! Thank you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I made these ones a couple of nights ago for my husband and I and today are almost gone. Buttery, creamy, light, perfect!. They were very easy to roll and cut and actually healthier, due to all that oat flour, which is a plus, if you are trying to sneak in some oats into your loved one's diet. This is the kind of cookie made for decorating, icing and dipping in chocolate, a delicate flavor that doesn't clash with your choice of decorating; I plan to make these ones for Christmas and pass around, along with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
The easiest dough I have ever worked with! My cookies kept there shape and did not stick to the counter top at all while I was rolling them. The final cookie is okay. It is dry and disolves in the mouth. I recommend topping with sugar prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe, I just finished them up. Word of warning, these do NOT make 60 cookies, unless they are paper thin or super tiny. I was using them to give to kids for Valentines and they would be wrapped individually so I didn't want them to fall apart. They made 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies V

Chocolate oatmeal cookies that don't require oven time.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States