Cut-Out Cookies in a Flower Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Ker-Baer
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is the BEST recipe!! Makes excellent cookies- hold very well even with large cutouts on sticks! HIGHLY recommend!!! Didn't use all 7 cups of flour, so took advice from prev poster and mixed salt and BP with 5 cups flour first. firm cookie but soft on the inside- I made big daisy cookies and had to cook them for 15 mins 8-10 was not enough.. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I have found my new cut-out cookie recipe. These are neither too hard nor too soft. I only made 1/2 the recipe, which made 24 flowers/butterflies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Great cookie. (I took the advise to add part of flour with BP and salt first. I needed 5 1/2 cups) I have been making Sugar Cookies for my Cookie Monster hubby for years. I wanted to try something new and these are great. I am making 130 cookies for Church event with a tropical theme. I stenciled a palm tree on each cookie. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I have come to leave out the baking powder because I find the details of the cut-out shapes get lost a little bit as the cookies puff in the oven. And they still have a great texture without the powder -although the dough really benefits from an overnight stay in the fridge. Last adjustment: no butter flavored extract to be found here in Belgium, so I sometimes sub in maple flavored extract (which is not available here either, but I bought that one in Canada a while ago) or just leave it out and double the vanilla. Thank you Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIBULLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I am always looking for cooking projects for my 7 yr old son and 3 yr old niece. this is something they both will enjoy. cant wait to try it out with them. thanks for the ideas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This Recipes is better than the Wilton recipe! I love to change up the extracts half butter flavor and half Raspberry is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Stephanie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuyvesant, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great cookies for decorating! I've made them a few times, and they always turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I'm making these cookies right now, the dough is still really soft and when I try to cut out the shape and lift it off the counter it loses its shape, any suggestions?! I hate to add more flour (I've already used the 7 cups) and dont want my cookies to be tough.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great tasting cookie! The one hint that I read somewhere is NOT to use flour if your dough is sticky- use powdered sugar. It doesn't add to the sweetness and it doesn't make the dough tough. I also make my cookies thicker, about 3/4" to allow for the lollipop stick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountaineerfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made these for a baby shower, using teeny-tiny terracotta pots and wooden dowels. Boy were they a hit! And they tasted sooooo good! Clever idea, great recipe. Thank you. (Note: I did omit the butter flavored extract, and the resulting flavor didn't lack a thing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States