Cut-Out Cookies by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
They are fool proof! Very soft and taste good. I used Almond instead of vanilla! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I usually hate to make cut out cookies but these were very easy and Oh so tasty. My family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are the best cut out cookie ever. I had lost by Eagle Brand cookbook and happily found the recipe here. I love that these cookies are so soft, last awhile if they aren't eaten up before I barely get them decorated and the sweetness, or lack of, perfectly balance all that sugary frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I loved making and eating these cookies. By not adding sugar to the dough and then using the confectioner sugar glaze it was just the right amount of sweetness for my family to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This recipe is very easy and the dough was easy to work with after 2 hours in the fridge. The cookies also held their shape well. They weren't very sweet, so they definitely need a glaze or icing to be sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe handled nicely. The flavor was not what I expected and the texture after baking was harder than expected, but overall a good cut-out cookie that packs well and holds up to gift-giving. I will probably use this one again; my 2-year-old and 4-year-old grand daughters would be able to work with the dough with me. That gives it an extra star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piper City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have used this very recipe for the last 10 years or so. Granted, the cookies are bland. They are meant to be decorated with sugars or frostings. Any sweeter and they would be too sweet to enjoy. Only four stars because they need the decoration, which can be very time consuming depending on the complexity of your designs. Overall, a great, easy recipe for quick holiday cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made these cookies for about 10 years. My husband's grandmother has an incredible recipe for sugar cookies, but it's a little involved. The kids have been able to throw these together by themselves which can come in handy when Mom is wrapping presents. Here's some tips...(I agree that they are on the bland side.) Use a nice, classic butter cream frosting made with real butter and vanilla. Bake the cookies on parchment paper and DON'T OVER BAKE! Any cookie that you over bake will taste bland. I look for the first cookie to have a touch of gold and then take them out. If you store them in an airtight container with the frosting on them, they will stay soft and the flavors will meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The dough was easy to work with but the cookies were bland and tasteless. They needed sugar or something. 1st suggestion, don't use this recipe. 2nd suggestion, if you do, then roll them thin and use lots of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My kids and I just got done making Santa's cookies. We wanted to try them to make sure they were good for him. We couldn't even finish one bite. I followed the recipe exactly and they were not good. I never leave bad reviews, but I didn't want anyone else to make bad cookies for Santa. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States