Cut-Out Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
I think basically the recipe is a good one, except in the recipe it says 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, but I used much more than that to get the recipe ready to roll. After I did that it was fine for rolling out and baking. I did ice them for more flavor. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
This recipe required more flour than than the 2 and a half cups to make it not sticky. I quit adding flour after 3 cups and put the dough in the freezer. Chilled, it was easier to roll out. Because of that reason, I think that it would be difficult for kids to make. I added lemon zest and fresh ginger (shredded) for more zing and I would recommend icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
This recipe is quick and easy to make but I was not thrilled with the taste. These cookies were not buttery at all! I found them to taste way to eggy. Three eggs is too much for this recipe. Butter cookies should taste buttery not eggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I have tried a few recipes for cut out cookies and by far this is the best one. The best part being that you do not have to chill the dough first before rolling it out. I also had to actually use more flour than the 2 1/2 cups, but that wasn't a problem. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
Great recipe. I ended up adding about 3 1/2c flour and to get it out of the mixing bowl and then had about 1/2c on the counter for rolling etc. I also added some lemon extract. Was a great little extra taste that you really couldn't taste in the dough, but the finished cookie was awesome. I frosted them with royal or butter cream icing and they always are a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
These are kid friendly, my 4 year old grand daughter helped me! Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
It was ok but it took forever to keep the mold together. They taste like the inside of bread. I'm more of a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
Pretty good. It was very sticky at first so I refridgrated the dough and it worked out well. This recipe definetly needs icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This recipe was easy to make and tasted really nice. The kids and I did add another half cup of flour in order to reduce the stickiness of the dough however. I also cut the sugar by 1/2 a cup and added a splash of orange juice. Turned out great - the kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
We will make some more tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States