Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
has a custard consistancy, but I have to agree tasted like sweetened eggs...not sure what I was looking for since I have never made custard pie before, but this was not was I was looking for. Will try another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUL1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Just like my grandma used to bake. My favorite in the world. I can eat the whole pie myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Although this recipe is very simple, I found the end product to be very sweet and a consistency almost like scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe did not come out and was not to our liking. I followed the directions exactly as written. It tasted like a sweet hard boiled egg. I used 6 large eggs and I had extra filling. I used a store bought pie filling in tin 9 inch as directed. I don't know why I had all the extra filling? Also why wasn't there any vanilla? My husband said it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
One of the things that I loved about this recipe was that the cooking time exactly matched up with my pumpkin pie recipe making Thanksgivinp pie cooking that much easier. If you miss the additon of vanilla I suggest putting it in the cup before you add your milk. My BF loved this "eggy" pie and it reminds him of his grandmother's; (my old recipe just didn't do it for him)! It is now a staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Great pie! I used graham cracker crust instead of regular pie crust. I will absolutely make again-maybe with a layer of chocolate on top:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This a nice and easy recipe. Only thing I changed is to cut milk to 1&1/2 cups. With 2 cups, there is too much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Next time I will use the deeper pre-made pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We have used this recipe for the past few years and it is loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Unfortunately this recipe was a complete waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States