Curtido (El Salvadoran Cabbage Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Curtido (cabbage slaw) is a great light alternative to the mayo based Slaw. I travel to El Salvador quite allot and absolutely love the pupas with this slaw and tomato sauce on side. But I made this slaw to go along with my pulled pork sandwiches. I did add 1/2diced jalapeño to spice up. Mexican oregano is more pungent which Is okay with me. It's a preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
i used this as a starting point to make a vinegary latiny cole slaw.. just added some season salt, garlic powder, and extra vinegar.. i only used 1 tsp of oregano (Mexican) and it that was plenty.. ty for the starting point for my side dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I've only had curtido once years ago, so I don't remember what it's actually "supposed" to taste like, but my half Salvadorian son was begging for pupusas, so I gave it a try. I followed this recipe exactly, and I also prepped it the day before for maximum flavor. My biggest comment is that the oregano was very overpowering, but maybe it is supposed to be that way. Overall, it was ok, but I wasn't overly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I use 1/2 white vinegar & 1/2 apple cider vinegar. Red onion instead of green onions & a couple of jalepeno peppers cut in 1/2 in the jar. The longer it sits the better it is. A thin sauce of pureed tomatoe spiced hot or mild to taste. Sauce on the pupusas, then curtido. We use curtido instead of regular cole-slaw its addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I think 2 tsp oregano is WAY too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
It was super easy to make and delicious. I opted to add some tomato sauce for a bit of color, as I am use to have curtido with a bit of tomato here in Los Angeles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlovsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
love this recipe, although I added "Goya Sazon", and pinch of my homemade "sofrito".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseoyola1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Deliciously simple! I love this recipe, but I always add a fresh pureed tomato, too, right before tossing together all the ingredients. It adds another layer of flavor that I just can't do without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was delicious, my only comment is that if you are using Mexican oregano, I recommend you cut it down to one (1) teaspoon, as two teaspoons was absolutely too much. Half an hour later, I can still taste it. Fantastic with pupusas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this specifically for Pupusas. Alone, I am not a big fan but, pair it with pupusas and it is awesome. I followed the directions as written (here is the but...) but, doubled the recipe. My husband thought it tasted better than the stuff we got at the El Salvadoran restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States