Curry Tuna and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe. So delicious. It was a big hit with the whole family. The only change I made was to sauté the onions first and I used cream of chicken soup because I had it on hand. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have never made or even eaten tuna casserole before tonight! I looked up the recipe out of necessity (didn't grocery shop when I should have and I had tuna to work with). I modified this recipe a bit. I added chopped feozen spinach because I saw it in another recipe and I love spinach. I also added grated cheddar cheese because I noticed a commenter who said she sprinkled cheese on top, but I mixed it in with the casserole so the bread crumbs would still be on top. Because I usually don't have condensed soups on hand, I made cream of celery feom scratch with fresh celery, and I'm sure that makes the casserole even better. I was out of mustard powder, so I tried mixing in a bit of turmeric in its place. And I halved the curry powder only because curry is such a strong flavor for me. And I omitted the eggs (I was out, but I don't think I'd include them anyway). The only thing I'll do differently next time is sautee the onions before adding them to the mix so that they don't stand out so much in the finished product. My kids enjoyed it (even my very, very picky six-year-old), so I'll probably double everything except the breadcrumb topping next time, because there was room to make it deeper in my 9×13. First attempt at tuna casserole was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I doubled the recipe and added a can of cream of mushroom instead of two can of cream of celery. I love curry, but the curry spice in this, I thought was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was really unique and delicious. My changes: cream of chicken (didn't have cream of celery), (1) 7 oz. can of tuna, and added celery salt. Will definitely be adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Was good but next time I am going to use cream of chicken soup I stead. I also topped mine with cheese and added a few flavored chips to the bread crumb mixture. Over good and my kids ate it without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Over-all a tasty recipe although next time I would saute the onions first. The onions were still raw even after adding 10 minutes to the cooking time. I also added a sprinkle of cheddar cheese over the eggs. I will definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
A very tasty tuna casserole! I would recommend you try it...it may become part of your staple menu. I had to modify my version of this recipe but had near stellar results: I did not have cream of celery so I used cream of chicken (isn't tuna the 'chicken of the sea?'); and I did not have milk so I used 'A Taste of Thai' coconut milk. I backed off on the amount of onion (like the flavor of onion, but it is the gift that keeps on giving) while adding 7 ounces of green peas and some grating of cheddar cheese on the eggs. A fairly easy dish that does not take a lot of time or effort to concoct. Thanks to chef who contributed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geodimon
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by jernstatc
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States