Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Outstanding! I have tried a few Indian recipes at home and they never come remotely close to tasting like what you'd get at a restaurant. However, this one hit the mark! I substituted half & half for heavy cream and still thought it was delicious. Even our 2-year old loved it. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Finally! I have tried dozens of chicken tikka masala recipes, all of them promising to taste "just like what you'd get at a restaurant", and none of them coming close. This is the closest one I have ever found, and it's very close indeed! Didn't change a thing; it was perfect first time out. I'll be making this many, many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've made this several times and everyone requests extras to take home with them. The only alterations I've ever made: I've used plain yogurt instead of cream, which worked out OK but I like the cream better, and I always add a little more curry powder :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lavinia
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
The best recipe!!! I didn't change a thing!!!! Just garnished it with fresh chopped cilantro for presentation and it added a delicious aroma! Served it with cumin basmati rice! And I know Indian food! Make it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
OMG this was PERFECT!!! I added a little extra garlic; I think next time I'll double up on the "heat." A huge THANK YOU for posting this recipe. It's a keeper forever!!!!!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We aren't Indian food eaters at home (I've only eaten Indian food once before) but my bff sent us a spice jar of curry that I felt obligated to use. This was our second dish and boy, it was superb! The only deviation I made from the recipe was using butter instead of ghee. A couple things...it was almost too creamy. Next time I'll cut back on the whipping cream, reduce to 2/3 c. I served it over fried rice with 1 t curry added in and a drizzle of fresh lime juice. That added a zing to cut the creaminess. It could have used some fresh greens. A previous reviewer mentioned serving with cilantro - that's on my radar for next time! Maybe some red pepper as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyloohoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
So delicious! Almost as good as the Indian restaurant we frequent!I make this recipe as is, no changes or substitutions (although I don't always let it simmer as long at the end as the recipe calls for). This can be a tad bit spicy but nothing overbearing. We make this at least twice a month if not weekly. Definitely pick up some Naan at your local grocery store (or try to make your own) and enjoy with the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Super easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Gifford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love, love ,love this recipe. I normally double it and freeze 1/2 the batch. It's a really forgiving recipe, which is great if you have kids who are constantly interrupting you! My kids love it too, I just add less red pepper and less paprika. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This recipe is absolutely fantastic!!! I cut out the cream because we're watching calories, and it still turned out absolutely delicious. I will be sharing this recipe with everyone I know who likes curry! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States