Curry Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Easy to prepare, I used a food processor to blend the first ingredients and that was a snap. Love the flavor the spices bring out. Makes a TON of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flower
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very good soup. For me, it ended up needing 12 cups of water because I used 2 to blend the veggies. From reading someone else's review, I used 1 teaspoon of salt because bouillon cubes also have salt in it. I also used 1 teaspoon black pepper because curry has some heat to it and I didn't want it to be too spicy. I didn't add any cayenne pepper at all. I used a whole 16oz bag of peas because after 2 cups there was only about 1/4 left. It turned out awesome....Everyone loved it! I've already passed on my revision of the recipe to 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this soup using a pressure cooker to speed up cooking time. I had to cook on high setting for total of 45min, for the peas to be soft/creamy. Didn't have to puree the peas at all - the final product was pretty smooth. Love the idea of pureeing the cooked veg first - was able to get the celery in for flavor, without my husband noticing! As I was preparing this, my husband almost turned up his nose when I told him what it was. After he tried it, and ate 3 bowls of it, he said "don't touch this recipe - it's perfect!" I omitted the cayenne, and used MSG-free, gluten-free, veg soup base (Instant VegeBase low-sodium granules by Vogue Cuisine), because of my husband's dietary restrictions, and it turned out perfect - not too salty. Loved the curry, too! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I didn't have carrots or celery, so I used parsnips instead. Also, I left out the salt. In my opinion, any dish that has bouillon doesn't need salt added - the bouillon is already quite salty! I only used one or two tsp of curry powder, and it was still almost too spicy for me! (Probably because I used the curry powder from the Indian store - it's much more potent than the American version!) I think I'll make it again, but with still less curry powder. It might also be good with some cubed potatoes in it - they're in lots of Indian dishes. We ate it with naan bread, which was a nice complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! I boiled the peas separately in water for half an hour before adding it to the soup, and they were the perfect consistency. I also went a bit easier on the pepper and added 2 tbsp. of turmeric. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very tasty. A nice change from the traditional soup recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really good flavor! I didn't find it salty at all (we use himalayan salt). We not fans of spice and this was just a tad bit too spicy for us. I imagine it would be perfect for someone who really likes spicy. Everyone roots to have it again with just a little less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Good flavor but too heavy on the spices. So heavy it covers the taste of the peas way too much. I will make this again but use a lot less spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Pretty good soup and I like the making of the paste, but it was a tad bit, ok just use a teaspoon of salt instead of a tablespoon. The split peas I got from Asherys probably did need to soak longer, if not it needs to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Probably could do without the cayenne pepper and a little less curry powder. I also cooked the peas almost 4 hours and they were still crunchy. Other than that it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States