Curry Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Yes, I made some changes to it and it was delicious. I used 2-32 ounces low sodium chicken broth, can of coconut milk and the zest of one lemon. I did not add salt. Made like this I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Easy to prepare, I used a food processor to blend the first ingredients and that was a snap. Love the flavor the spices bring out. Makes a TON of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flower
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very good soup. For me, it ended up needing 12 cups of water because I used 2 to blend the veggies. From reading someone else's review, I used 1 teaspoon of salt because bouillon cubes also have salt in it. I also used 1 teaspoon black pepper because curry has some heat to it and I didn't want it to be too spicy. I didn't add any cayenne pepper at all. I used a whole 16oz bag of peas because after 2 cups there was only about 1/4 left. It turned out awesome....Everyone loved it! I've already passed on my revision of the recipe to 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made this soup using a pressure cooker to speed up cooking time. I had to cook on high setting for total of 45min, for the peas to be soft/creamy. Didn't have to puree the peas at all - the final product was pretty smooth. Love the idea of pureeing the cooked veg first - was able to get the celery in for flavor, without my husband noticing! As I was preparing this, my husband almost turned up his nose when I told him what it was. After he tried it, and ate 3 bowls of it, he said "don't touch this recipe - it's perfect!" I omitted the cayenne, and used MSG-free, gluten-free, veg soup base (Instant VegeBase low-sodium granules by Vogue Cuisine), because of my husband's dietary restrictions, and it turned out perfect - not too salty. Loved the curry, too! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I didn't have carrots or celery, so I used parsnips instead. Also, I left out the salt. In my opinion, any dish that has bouillon doesn't need salt added - the bouillon is already quite salty! I only used one or two tsp of curry powder, and it was still almost too spicy for me! (Probably because I used the curry powder from the Indian store - it's much more potent than the American version!) I think I'll make it again, but with still less curry powder. It might also be good with some cubed potatoes in it - they're in lots of Indian dishes. We ate it with naan bread, which was a nice complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! I boiled the peas separately in water for half an hour before adding it to the soup, and they were the perfect consistency. I also went a bit easier on the pepper and added 2 tbsp. of turmeric. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very tasty. A nice change from the traditional soup recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really good flavor! I didn't find it salty at all (we use himalayan salt). We not fans of spice and this was just a tad bit too spicy for us. I imagine it would be perfect for someone who really likes spicy. Everyone roots to have it again with just a little less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Muma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Good flavor but too heavy on the spices. So heavy it covers the taste of the peas way too much. I will make this again but use a lot less spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Pretty good soup and I like the making of the paste, but it was a tad bit, ok just use a teaspoon of salt instead of a tablespoon. The split peas I got from Asherys probably did need to soak longer, if not it needs to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States