Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I've wanted to try my hand at making curry for some time, and after carefully looking over the recipes on this site I chose this one. Honestly, I was disappointed. I spent a lot of time preparing the sauce, following the recipe to the letter, and it was ultimately pretty bland. I tried adding more spices and, despite the fact that it looked and smelled great, it didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
So-so recipe. A lot of work and time for a week bodied sauce. The cumin was overwhelming. Maybe cut the cumin in half and up double the curry paste (sauce really needs body). I will not make this one again. Still on the hunt for a good curry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I pureed the onion and garlic before simmering as one other reviewer suggested. Delicious. I froze the sauce and then thawed and reheated. I added a little half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe hit the spot for us! I think its one that can be customized or altered based on your tastes & available ingredients. I used estimates on everything & it still came out great. My favorite is to cook chicken or pork in lime & onions, add it to this sauce, & serve over quinoa. I also added some leftover HUMMUS last minute, sort of on a whim, and it actually filled out the sauce & gave it great body! Fresh tomatoes are great to use this time of year too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I will start with the disclaimer that I did not have all the spices necessary, so had to make some substitutions. The ginger was so overwhelming though, I'm not sure it would have mattered what else I put in. I would start with maybe 1 tablespoon, then add to taste. 3 is way too much. I also thickened with about a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I found this recipe unpleasant as the amount of onions used were overwhelming. It’s possible that’s other might enjoy it but it was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
It was too spicy hot for the children. I would probably omit the red pepper flakes. It needs body... perhaps some tomato paste would have helped with that. I added some coconut cream to help alleviate the heat. It makes A LOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I thought it was on great, used it on tofu cubes, bell peppers, onions & portabellas sauteed in citrus soy sauce on a bed of rice. I couldn't find any garam masala locally though, so I had to leave that out, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious and flavorful. I took a short-cut for the sake of time by chopping the onion in the food processor and then cooking, rather than cook then puree. I served with chicken over rice...yum~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was my first attempt at curry and this recipe is a great place to start - the flavour was excellent. I would say to make sure your water JUST covers your onions or you will end up with a very thin sauce. Also, I used 4T of hot curry paste and it was not very hot. May need more, or it could be I used too much water with my onions? I cooked this in a slow cooker with skinless chicken thighs and legs. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYM25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States