Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I loved this! I added a bay leaf, cumin, a pinch of cinnamon, 1 tsp or so of fish sauce, cayenne pepper and extra curry (love that spice!). I also added minced onion and garlic at the beginning. This is a great base recipe to add to if you love heat like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Wonderful, I've made this several times! I used butternut squash (more flavor) and extra curry. It won the favorite dish at a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very delicious soup with a nice kick! My 2 year old devoured his bowl. I couldn't help but smile after every bite myself. Can't wait to make it again. Will be sharing this recipe with my friends! There's more kick still if you use red curry powder. Also, a dollop of plain yogurt on top of each serving or alongside (not mixed in) makes a nice soothing counter-balance to any spice in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This soup is nothing short of DEVINE. It's perfect. I accidentally put 2 tsp of garam masala in before I realized I was putting in the wrong spice, so did that and then 1tsp of curry spice. It's wonderful. I also only had chicken broth but it doesn't matter: it's wonderful. I will make this again and again. Serve with crusty bread. OMG perfect soup. Make it! It's EASY too. I did as suggested and did puree one med onion and 4 cloves of garlic and sauteed that with the butter and spices. Delicious. This will be a staple at my house FOREVER now. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe! The curry gives the pumpkin a wonderful kick. I did do some subtracting and adding, though. I added barley, cut up chunks of brown and serve pre-cooked turkey sausage that was sauted with chopped onion before I added the flour to make a paste, chinese 5 spice powder, skim milk and cinnamon and lost the half and half, soy sauce and sugar and no pumpkin seeds. I slimmed it down and made it more diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
12 year-old did not like the texture. Flavor was good, but actually a little strong on the curry (and I usually like curry). Might look for another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this was flipping deeeelicious. My husband and boys thougth it was SO gross. They don't like squash soups- should have known. I used 1 TBS and 1 TSP of curry powder and subbed heavy cream for the 1/2 and 1/2. AWESOME-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This recipe reminds of one I use to eat all the time at my friends gourmet restaurant. I read the other reviews and I only used 1 TBLSP of the Curry Powder and omitted the salt. Overall, EXCELLENT. A great Fall soup and can be eaten throughout the year for pumpkin lovers like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Super simple and tastes great! I had this in my bowl in under 15 minutes. No need to ever buy canned soups with recipes like this! I love how flexible it is. I made a half batch and didn't add as much curry spice. I did add cayenne which gave it a nice hint of heat. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
very easy and very good. I used milk to cut down on the fat content. I topped it with "Rothbury Farms Texas Toast cheese galic croutons". Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anderson-Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States