Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the soy sauce, omitted sugar, added garlic and a wee bit of tumric. Make sure you let it simmer for awhile so all the flavor a blend. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Just made a half recipe tonight and eyeballed all the ingredients, and it still turned out good! My curry spice was very hot so the soup was spicy. I also used heavy cream, boy was it rich and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is okay but I wouldn't say anything better. I added the onions and coconut milk as others recommended but thought it was extremely bland. I added add'l curry powder and cayenne to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We really liked this soup! As some of the others suggested, I swapped half & half for coconut milk and I added in 1/4 a cup of chopped onions. I also added in 3/4-1 tablespoon of cayenne pepper because I like it a little bit spicier. Super easy and cheap! Plus, there is really only one dish to clean afterwards, which my fiance LOVES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Yummy! Didn't have half & half, so I used buttermilk. Still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Oh, my goodness this was so delicious! I used vegetable broth, coconut milk and used just a bit more flour because I wanted it to be a little thicker. I made jasmine rice to go with it and it was really great. Perfect for a fall day...family loved it. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
The original recipe is delicious without any changes. It has a rich, warm flavor... a great comfort food for a brisk fall day or cold winter day. To make this gluten free, substitute corn starch for the flour, and make sure the broth is gluten free. To use fresh pumpkin instead of canned, gut and cut a 3 lb sugar pumpkin into 1" x 2" chunks, drizzle with veg oil, and toss to coat. Roast 15 minutes in a grill pan, on the grill. Cool and peel the skin off. Add the chunks instead of canned pumpkin, and use a stick blender (mine is a kitchen aid and it worked great) to puree the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I had to substitute 2% milk for the half and half, I omitted the pumpkin seeds, I used fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned, homemade vegetable broth instead of canned, and I added some Worcestershire sauce in addition to the soy sauce. I thought it turned out great! I will make this again and again! Next time I will be sure to get some half and half or heavy cream because I think that would give the soup a much better flavor and texture. I also plan to steam and puree some cauliflower (or possibly add some other type of squash like butternut) to add to the soup along with some extra vegetable broth so it’s not too thick. I think the addition of the cauliflower or squash would give it some more dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ductapelosergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Great soup. Sauted minced onions with the butter, used coconut milk instead of half-n-half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious. Used coconut light milk in lieu of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States