Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I bought a pumpin at the farmer's market for making pie & seeds, but found this recipe on a "quick meal" search & thought, "What the hey? Sounds healthy & the ratings are great." SO>>> I followed other reviewers & added about 1/4 Cup of food processed onions to the bubbling butter, then did the recipe as followed. Added about 1 cup of shredded chicken to it & used Coconut milk instead of the 1/2 & 1/2, AND I used Indian Curry which made it near impossible for my children to feed their bodies so wonderfully as my hubby & me! Made wheat rolls & topped the soup with the seeds & we were so satisfied, in & out! This is a great, warm up your insides & get your nose running soup! So good for you too! Thank you for this addition to my fave site! Now this recipe card sits in front row in my soup slot in the recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
really good and creamy. Sauted minced onions with the butter, used coconut milk instead of half-n-half, and added cumin. will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This soup is ridiculously good. I made this to use up some unused Christmas dinner ingredients, and I think it's going to be replacing my current pumpkin soup recipe! I made a few changes: I added one chopped yellow onion, and about 2 tablespoons of minced garlic to the curry saute, and I replaced the vegetable stock with chicken stock and the cream with evaporated milk because I had it on hand and wanted to use it up. I'm sure this soup is great without any changes though! I also added a pinch of ginger. Served it with some warm crusty popovers. Delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I have done this recipe with the onion and half-and-half a couple of different ways. I have chopped the onion to add texture and I have also thrown it into the blender so it was creamy. I like it creamy and my husband prefers the onions chopped. Either way you go this recipe is a winner and so easy you will not believe it. I am so glad I tried this in October. I will be making this a lot and we will be able to eat this warming dish all winter long! I think it is substantial enough for a main dish. Wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I'm rating medium because I know this can be so much better. my fiancee makes a soup similar to this, but it definitely uses coconut milk instead of cream, which is so much better for you, and fish sauce instead of soy sauce. both substitutes are actually oriental ingredients instead of americanized versions. also if you use a butternut squash you don't need to add the sugar as it's naturally sweeter than pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
FABULOUS.. I can't believe I made something so great tasting and easy to prepare. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and I used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. The way to give it a kick in flavor is either to add more curry or just more salt. I also put in a little more sugar and it really tasted fantastic and I will definitely make this again....it's an awesome "comfort" food on a cold fall afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I love this soup, or anything with pumpkin! I have made this with coconut milk instead of half and half with yummy results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
The soup is great! Instead of canned pumpkin, I used fresh pumpkin, baked it for 30 minutes the night before. The baked pumpkin turned out to be so soft that I mashed the it using a laddle instead of a blender. I also used curry paste and added a bay leave to the stock as recommended. My friends LOVE the soup, will make it again, very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YVONNEWOI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I served this recipe to an entire party of people... it had a very creamy and mild flavor so I added extra curry and soysauce. May be good to try it with the onions option in the description. Everyone really liked it, although some spiced it up a bit on their own, a little seasoning salt and some crushed red pepper for the ones who really wanted spice. Great over-all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Very good recipe. For my tastes, it was a bit lacking in the spicy-ness, so I added a little green curry and pepper. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States