Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Whole family loved this soup. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vongruenigen
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
amazing. i made with both an onion and vanilla almond milk instead of cow milk. it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
4.5 stars - I thought this was a great spiced pumpkin soup. I followed other suggestions and added in some minced onion and garlic (sauteed at the beginning to soften), substituted coconut milk for the half-and-half, and omitted the soy sauce but added in a little bit of cumin. This made a nice consistency, well flavored soup. Could potentially use a bit less curry powder, but I suppose it depends on how much you like the flavor. Proper salt and pepper seasoning really made this soup for me. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I tried so hard to like this - but I just didn't. And to my surprise, it was Hubs who I thought wouldn't like this and he did! It was different and interesting, I'll give it that. But I think it was overly "curried" and that did it in for me. Hubs said for him it was the curry that made the "pumpkin" part of this soup edible! I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth - I never have vegetable broth on hand and know I would prefer the chicken broth anyway. I left out the sugar - pumpkin is sweet enough. It's very rich and again, too curried, so a little goes a long way. Therefore, I have to agree with Hubs that this would be good as a "soup shooter starter," as a complement to the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
What a delicious soup! We tried it with the onions, as suggested. This was fast, easy, and so comforting on a snowy winter night. Thanks for sharing, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My goodness this was yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Oh my gosh!!! This is excellent! My 6yr old son asked for pumpkin soup even though he's never had it (no one in my family has). So I bought pumpkins and made this recipe. Wonderful!! I used heavy cream and sauteed onions. I recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was great, but I think I was heavy-handed on the curry powder (usually I like extra, this time I don't think it was a good idea). I live in a foreign country so I have to buy a gourd similar to pumpkin called ahuyama and boil it, then when it's soft I scoop it out of the rind and put it in the blender. I added 4 garlic cloves and half an onion in the blender and had that as my replacement for the canned pumpkin. Next time I might add in a few splashes of white wine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made this with the suggested minced onion, which I cooked until caramelized. This soup was delightfully creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, and this soup was pretty terrible until I added a TON more spices that weren't listed in the ingredients. Will definitely try a different recipe next time I make pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States