Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My goodness this was yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Oh my gosh!!! This is excellent! My 6yr old son asked for pumpkin soup even though he's never had it (no one in my family has). So I bought pumpkins and made this recipe. Wonderful!! I used heavy cream and sauteed onions. I recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was great, but I think I was heavy-handed on the curry powder (usually I like extra, this time I don't think it was a good idea). I live in a foreign country so I have to buy a gourd similar to pumpkin called ahuyama and boil it, then when it's soft I scoop it out of the rind and put it in the blender. I added 4 garlic cloves and half an onion in the blender and had that as my replacement for the canned pumpkin. Next time I might add in a few splashes of white wine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made this with the suggested minced onion, which I cooked until caramelized. This soup was delightfully creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I followed the directions exactly, and this soup was pretty terrible until I added a TON more spices that weren't listed in the ingredients. Will definitely try a different recipe next time I make pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
It's unfortunate that I have to rate the recipe to leave a review, because I made too many changes to the original for me to really be able to give a fair rating... but since I have to rate, I'd put it solidly in the middle. Some of the changes I made were necessary (only had 13.9 oz pumpkin), others were due to personal preference (do not like things too spicy). Here are the changes I made: halved the recipe; used turkey stock instead of veggie broth; used approx. half amount of curry (still plenty spicy for me); did not add salt. Next time I will mince up half a medium sweet onion (for a half-batch of soup) in my food processor, and saute that with the butter. Too many changes to really rate the recipe as written, but I think the original is a great base and lends itself well to modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Made this just the way it says PLUS added a finely chopped yellow onion and the whole family loved it. Enjoy with a crusty warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love, love, love, love, love! Easy, quick and delicious! This soup had wonderful rich flavor with a nice kick at the end. It was devoured. I made it for a party I was going to and served it as soup shooters. I put a small dollop of sour cream and then the onions as a garnish. They were a huge hit. Thanks for the great recipe that will be a staple in our home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe...with a few changes. I added finely chopped onions to the butter before adding the flour/curry powder. I also substituted coconut milk (1 can) for the half-and-half. I served this to a group of 15 teens, 2 college students, and 4 adults. It was an absolute hit! One suggestion I got from 2 people was that it'd be great served over rice...another was to add raisins. It really does only take about 20 minutes to make. Definite keeper recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Used can of lite coconut milk. I added too much pepper, but otherwise tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States