Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this using fresh pumpkin from the patch. Substituted evaporated milk for the 1/2 & 1/2. Started with a half a small white onion in the butter before adding the flour to make the roux and then added more onion powder before serving. I liked mine with parmesan cheese and savory croutons, my husband liked his plain. We like this enough to plan on serving it when the family comes for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
this was yummy...i had tried another pumpkin soup that swore my family off all pumpkin soups... until this one. i made it for pennies with leftover canned pumpkin from thanksgiving! I did add more curry and salt and used turkey stock that I had made homemade also for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was excellent. My entire family loved it. I followed the recipee except for the inclusion of an onion and a clove of garlic. I used fat-free half and half and chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My husband and 2 little boys did not seem interested in the thought of it. But, they all loved it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Whole family loved this soup. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vongruenigen
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
amazing. i made with both an onion and vanilla almond milk instead of cow milk. it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
4.5 stars - I thought this was a great spiced pumpkin soup. I followed other suggestions and added in some minced onion and garlic (sauteed at the beginning to soften), substituted coconut milk for the half-and-half, and omitted the soy sauce but added in a little bit of cumin. This made a nice consistency, well flavored soup. Could potentially use a bit less curry powder, but I suppose it depends on how much you like the flavor. Proper salt and pepper seasoning really made this soup for me. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I tried so hard to like this - but I just didn't. And to my surprise, it was Hubs who I thought wouldn't like this and he did! It was different and interesting, I'll give it that. But I think it was overly "curried" and that did it in for me. Hubs said for him it was the curry that made the "pumpkin" part of this soup edible! I used chicken broth rather than vegetable broth - I never have vegetable broth on hand and know I would prefer the chicken broth anyway. I left out the sugar - pumpkin is sweet enough. It's very rich and again, too curried, so a little goes a long way. Therefore, I have to agree with Hubs that this would be good as a "soup shooter starter," as a complement to the rest of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
What a delicious soup! We tried it with the onions, as suggested. This was fast, easy, and so comforting on a snowy winter night. Thanks for sharing, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My goodness this was yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States