Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
this was just OK... the pumpkin was a little too bland even with the spices. and I used coconut milk thinking it would give it more flavor... it still was not that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
What a fantastic recipe. My sister in law made this as an appetizer for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit. The flavor combination in this soup is absolutely wonderful! It keeps very well in the fridge for a few days and is perfect for a hearty lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I subbed milk for the heavy cream to make it healthier. The flavor was quite good, but the soup did taste a little too "healthy" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! I use "wet" curry (the kind in the jar) and just tweak things here & there to the flavor I like. It has become a staple in my house and my FAVORITE fall/winter dish! I've started making Naan to go along with it - YUM!! Everyone who's tried it or even smelled it (brought it for lunch at nursing school) has drooled over it. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for a change of pace from chipotle pumpkin soup, which I make at least once a month. This recipe is good. I skipped the roux, as it isn't necessary; I just adjust the amount of liquid to achieve the desired thickness (used about 4 cups of total liquid). I used almond milk in place of the half-and-half and skipped the sugar, as it just didn't seem like it needed it. I like things spicy, so I added cayenne and crushed red pepper, as well as freshly ground black pepper. This is great topped with a spoonful of reduced fat sour cream. Nice change of pace from my usual soup. Another great thing is that it can be on the table in 15-20 minutes from start to finish, so you have a from scratch soup in about the same time that it would take to make canned/premade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The Soup was delicious as is! Its warm and spicey and perfect for the winter months. I actually add a little more spice than recommended and, upon the request of my brother, added some cayenne pepper for a kick to make the soup spice-y and spicy. :) Great soup. Will go into my recipe box with a little star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this using fresh pumpkin from the patch. Substituted evaporated milk for the 1/2 & 1/2. Started with a half a small white onion in the butter before adding the flour to make the roux and then added more onion powder before serving. I liked mine with parmesan cheese and savory croutons, my husband liked his plain. We like this enough to plan on serving it when the family comes for Christmas. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
this was yummy...i had tried another pumpkin soup that swore my family off all pumpkin soups... until this one. i made it for pennies with leftover canned pumpkin from thanksgiving! I did add more curry and salt and used turkey stock that I had made homemade also for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was excellent. My entire family loved it. I followed the recipee except for the inclusion of an onion and a clove of garlic. I used fat-free half and half and chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My husband and 2 little boys did not seem interested in the thought of it. But, they all loved it and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States