Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I had to use fresh pumpkin as we can't get cans of it where I live, but kept everything else the same. It was really good. Next time I would add some onion and garlic as others have mentioned just for a bit more depth but it was good as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I'm a low carber so pumpkin is a dream food. So many things you can do with it. I didn't use any flour and used splenda in place of the sugar. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiechickbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I made this with coconut milk (boxed, not canned) and wouldn't do that again. Will try again as written next time. Quite good still but not as creamy the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This has become a common weekend request from my family, and I love that it is SO EASY to make. My alterations: 1 c. finely chopped red onion for some additional texture and flavor, coconut milk instead of cream, fish sauce instead of soy, and I serve it over a slice of crusty french bread (toasted in the oven like a huge crouton.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was a bit bland. Not bad, just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
this was just OK... the pumpkin was a little too bland even with the spices. and I used coconut milk thinking it would give it more flavor... it still was not that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
What a fantastic recipe. My sister in law made this as an appetizer for Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit. The flavor combination in this soup is absolutely wonderful! It keeps very well in the fridge for a few days and is perfect for a hearty lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I subbed milk for the heavy cream to make it healthier. The flavor was quite good, but the soup did taste a little too "healthy" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! I use "wet" curry (the kind in the jar) and just tweak things here & there to the flavor I like. It has become a staple in my house and my FAVORITE fall/winter dish! I've started making Naan to go along with it - YUM!! Everyone who's tried it or even smelled it (brought it for lunch at nursing school) has drooled over it. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for a change of pace from chipotle pumpkin soup, which I make at least once a month. This recipe is good. I skipped the roux, as it isn't necessary; I just adjust the amount of liquid to achieve the desired thickness (used about 4 cups of total liquid). I used almond milk in place of the half-and-half and skipped the sugar, as it just didn't seem like it needed it. I like things spicy, so I added cayenne and crushed red pepper, as well as freshly ground black pepper. This is great topped with a spoonful of reduced fat sour cream. Nice change of pace from my usual soup. Another great thing is that it can be on the table in 15-20 minutes from start to finish, so you have a from scratch soup in about the same time that it would take to make canned/premade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States