Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe with some of the modifications suggested by others, specifically substituting coconut milk for half and half. Don't do it! The soup lost all of its pumpkin taste. The coconut milk was overpowering. One small change I would suggest is to add a teaspoon or two of garam marsala along with the curry powder as directed. I think the spices in garam marsala mix would compliment pumpkin's flavors. I'll be trying that next time and will post another review if it is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I just made this soup and used powdered onion soup since I couldn't find my cans of veg stock. It is super tasty!!! I will be making this many times in the future, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I hate it when people change and rate a recipe, but this one is so good you don't need all the ingredients! I used skim milk and omitted the sauce. It was still amazing. Great basic recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved this! Super easy to make -- it's just mixing ingredients together. I left out the salt and pepper in the main recipe to allow for individual adjustments of them. Used low sodium soy sauce. Didn't use pumpkin seeds, but I don't think it really needs them and it sounds like unnecessary work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe, however I omit the sugar and add a few other spices like red pepper, chili powder and paprika as well as garlic salt to make it a savory soup. I still love the curry. I change out the vegetable broth with chicken broth. This is the best recipe for large groups. Instead of garnishing with pumpkin seeds, I like to change it out with either toasted walnuts, sautéed mushrooms or crumbled bacon (or all three!). It is great to offer your guests a choice of garnishes - especially if you have picky eaters, or ones on special diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! A MUST try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
2 tbsp butter + 2 tbsp curry powder + 3 tbsp flour = dough ball. Mixture will burn before it bubbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this for a party to accompany a Honey Baked Ham- it was a huge hit! I tripled the recipe and it was almost gone by nights end. I added the onions, a bit of fresh garlic, and some minced ginger as others have done. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE0987

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I halved the recipe - single guy. I used evaporated milk and did add a pinch extra curry and a pinch of ginger. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I added two stir fried boneless chichen breasts cut into bite sized pieces and a can of drained chick peas. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States