Curry Mango Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I've been making this for years and we look forward to it every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very good! Using chicken thighs is a must! I too used the whole can of coconut milk and just a little of the broth. I put the chicken in a baggy with the seasonings over night which made prep the next day go very quick. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I found this recipe to be delicious! I only had time to "marinate" the chicken for about 45 minutes, so I cut it into smaller chunks so the spices could cover more surface area. I left out the red pepper flakes thinking my kids would eat this dish, but the curry itself was a little too spicy for them. Now I wish I would have included them for my own sake! I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 for two reasons. One, the flavor was a smidge underdeveloped... Maybe a little more lime and just a bit more salt for the chicken. And two, the rice was mushy around the edges and a little underdone in the middle. I'm not sure what would remedy this... Longer cooking at a lower temperature? Shorter cooking at a higher temperature? Even still, the texture of the rice isn't so bad--especially if you stir it up before eating--just not perfect. I will definitely make this again, even if I can't get the rice perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used jasmine rice (uncooked) and instead of mango I used 1/2 cup of orange juice. Turned out awesome! the only thing I will "tweak" next time is to add more spice to heat it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a good base recipe but a little overpowering. I'd suggest cutting the spice mixture for the chicken in half and adding a little oil or water to make a rub. I loved the flavor of the rice, but I think that next time I will cook the rice separately (adjusting liquid for type of rice and under cooking by 5 min), add the remaining rice ingrediants with a splash more lime juice, and then finish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe seems to have potential, but it fell short of flavor. It did smell good, but the curry flavor as well as the mango was weak. The rice was slightly mushy. My whole family was excited to try, but they all gave it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I reduced the amount of Water for the rice to a half cup, and the rice came out sticky but not soupy. This recipe was good, but very spicy. If you don't like too much spice, add the pinch of red pepper flakes to the chicken, but leave the rice alone. This does take a lot of time to prepare, so make things ahead, or start early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Takes a long time to prepare and then cook, so plan half a day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This recipe is amazing!!! I can't say more. I followed exactly and it was wonderful. The kids liked it too!! Thanks Toronto Mommy. Definately worth the time and effort. PS....make sure the mangos are ripe or use canned. he unriped one will leave your rice a bit bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I needed a new recipe to use an abundance of fresh mangoes. After reading all previous reviews, I made my own adjustments. Instead of chicken thighs, I used chicken breast tenderloins. I tossed the frozen tenderloins with the spice mix and let them thaw in the mixture, then let them chill in the mixture all day. Because we only eat whole grains, I substituted brown jasmine rice. ( Remember, brown rice takes longer to cook) I also skipped the water & I mixed in the entire can of coconut milk. I followed step three (reserving the mango) except that I put the mixture in a large stove top pan with a snug lid. After bringing to a boil, I simmered the rice mixture for 35 minutes. I then added the chicken tenderloins & mango to the mixture. Covered it again & cooked about 15 minutes more. This was very tasty and I liked not having to have my oven on. Next time I will serve with chopped peanuts & more fresh mango as a garnish. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States