Curry Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Great recipe! We used a bag of coleslaw mix instead of the cabbage, green onions, and peas. Turned out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very good, quick & easy. I just used a bag of coleslaw mix (red & green cabbage + carrots) as well as the frozen peas, green onions & peanuts. My husband even had seconds (and he is not a coleslaw fan!) If you like asian flavors of curry & ginger I think you will enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
The taste of the dressing is great! I had to omit the green onions and the peas tonight, so subbed with carrots. The coleslaw went from good to great with the addition of the peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I recently made this for a pot luck dinner and it was a hit. This was a great recipe! However, I did make some changes. Instead of using peanuts, I used curry cashews, crushed then, I added some chopped apples (leave the skin on for color and extra fiber). It was a hit! I highly recommend this recipe. Yes, don't try it if you are not a fan of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I am in a CSA and needed to find a way to use up the season's red cabbage, kohlrabi, asian cabbage and celery. I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream and toasted pine nuts as I did not have peanuts in the house. I would drastically reduce the cayenne, I used 3/4 tsp and it was way too hot for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Very tasty, but next time I will use the prepackaged coleslaw mix. The whole head of cabbage was a bit more thick. I heated the rest up the next day and added some chicken to it. Mixed it all together and served it on a bed of Jasmine rice. Adding coconut milk to the mix would probably improve the heated version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Used this basic recipe but changed and added a few things. Nonfat plain yogurt instesd of sour cream, pine nuts instead of peanuts and added red grapes & broccoli. Also used hot curry along with the other spices. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
If you like curry flavor you will really like this recipe. I used yogurt instead of sour cream to lessen the calories a bit, and used a mix of both dry and honey roasted peanuts for a little spicy/sweet combination. I also recommend drastically reducing the amount of cayenne unless you like things REALLY spicy. I highly recommend this as a side dish to jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
A very tasty slaw! But you must like curry flavor or you will be disappointed. I made 1/2 a recipe and I cut the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. Also added just a bit of carrot and green pepper. The peanuts add a great deal to this slaw and I think a few more would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I expected to like this much more than I actually did. I kept thinking the dressing would be better suited to a potato salad? Think I might try that, and will omit the peanuts. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States