Curried Zucchini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I've never made this EXACTLY by the recipe, but what I did do is double the curry powder, and add a diced sweet potato for more body. It is REALLY good! Also try adding a dollop of sour cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Zucchini Soup has an amazing consistency and texture about it. It isn't grainy like potato-based soups can be. I find using a white onion is a must and I replaced the curry powder with thyme. My daughter is crazy about it. I add grated cheddar for her. This is a really nice soup. Some reviews suggest adding cream or milk but I prefer it as recommended. It freezes better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Lightle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was just ok for us. Tasted like watery zucchini and curry which is what is I guess but based on the reviews I was expecting something more. I was disappointed as I love zucchini and curry both but this was just not great. It was too thin; I added some cornstarch which helped a little. I also stirred in some sour cream to give it a more creamy flavor. I don't think I will make it again but for those who try it I would recommend adding a potato or something to give it more substance. Maybe some other veggies too? My husband liked it more than me but it didn't get raves from anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Excellent Soup! I added celery & Carrots w/the zucchini and about a teaspoon of cayenne for a kick. . . will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The soup really suffers from lack of a flavorful base. I added a couple T. of tomato paste and then a dollop of non fat sour cream in each bowl to jazz it up. I also didn't add as much olive oil since it didn't make a difference the second time I made this. I like extra curry and a pinch of cumin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I'm still working on using up our garden zucchini, so this recipe came to the rescue. YUM. Husband isn't crazy about curry, and yet he also likes this soup! Made exactly as recipe calls for except adding some fat free sour cream when blending together. We'll be enjoying this for years to come. Thanks for a simple-to-make, yet delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Amazing! Even my Daughter loved it, although it got a little to spicy for her after a while. But that is Curry. If you love curry and are wondering what to do with your zucchini, this rocks! I definitely would put in some sour cream as one reviewer suggested. I used 1/2 cup of light and it just seemed creamy and rich, without the calories! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I really liked this recipe, although I did add a few things. I added a few garlic cloves crushed because they go so well with onions and curry. I also added six or seven garden fresh tomatoes because they are as abundant in my garden as the zucchini. Before I pureed the soup I drained a little of the liquid off because I like a thicker soup. It turned out perfect and delicious. I considered putting sour cream in it for a creamier soup, but it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Excellent Flavor! I can not wait to make again for company. I added carrots to the onion to give it a little more texture. I love eating soup. This has become my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States