Curried Zucchini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I make a version of this soup using butter and one large tablespoon of vindaloo or hot curry paste. It makes a very spicy cold soup, lovely in the summer. After sauteeing the onions in the butter, add the chopped zucchini and only enough chicken stock to cover. Cook until the zucchini is very soft. Then puree and add about 2 cups of buttermilk. This makes a creamy but low-fat summer soup. Serve chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Family loved it; add a cubed sweet potato, some garlic and red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit. We collected some of the cubed sweet potatoes prior to blending to add back in later, and added some yogurt as well. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVPLAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Excellent flavor. I prefer my soup a bit thicker, so served this over rice. Very easy to make. Great way to use that out-of-control zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This soup is absolutely delicious! It is very easy to make, and the flavor continues to build after cooking. I will use this recipe again for sure. I have actually written it out 3 times this week for friends! Highly recommended! Low fat, healthy choice, high in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This turned out quite tasty! I substituted the curry with cumin and, like another member mentioned, added some garlic - I thought the consistency was just fine, but my zucchini were pretty large, so the extra vegetable could've helped give more substance to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I've never made this EXACTLY by the recipe, but what I did do is double the curry powder, and add a diced sweet potato for more body. It is REALLY good! Also try adding a dollop of sour cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Zucchini Soup has an amazing consistency and texture about it. It isn't grainy like potato-based soups can be. I find using a white onion is a must and I replaced the curry powder with thyme. My daughter is crazy about it. I add grated cheddar for her. This is a really nice soup. Some reviews suggest adding cream or milk but I prefer it as recommended. It freezes better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Lightle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was just ok for us. Tasted like watery zucchini and curry which is what is I guess but based on the reviews I was expecting something more. I was disappointed as I love zucchini and curry both but this was just not great. It was too thin; I added some cornstarch which helped a little. I also stirred in some sour cream to give it a more creamy flavor. I don't think I will make it again but for those who try it I would recommend adding a potato or something to give it more substance. Maybe some other veggies too? My husband liked it more than me but it didn't get raves from anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Excellent Soup! I added celery & Carrots w/the zucchini and about a teaspoon of cayenne for a kick. . . will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
The soup really suffers from lack of a flavorful base. I added a couple T. of tomato paste and then a dollop of non fat sour cream in each bowl to jazz it up. I also didn't add as much olive oil since it didn't make a difference the second time I made this. I like extra curry and a pinch of cumin too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Bateman Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States