Curried Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Great recipe for spaghetti squash. I omitted the rice and pasta, and added frozen green beans and canned chickpeas. I just didn't think the rice and pasta were necessary. The flavor was great, and without the rice and pasta, this was a very low-calorie soup. Even my picky husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Thanks Sandy! This recipe was everything you described! My only substitute was using butternut squash instead of spaghetti squash because that's what I had on hand. Everyone in the family loved it and so did some friends who stopped by for leftovers :) This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
I loved the use of spices in this soup. It also tasted great the next day. It was a little heavy on the squash compared to the rice and lentils, but otherwise, it's a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
Easy to make, and very tasty... it was our first experience with spaghetti squash, but we'll definitely be using them again and again. The only changes we made were tri-color rotelle instead of macaroni and a roux to thicken it somewhat. Next time, I think more lentils and red pepper penne will make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ayden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
The small amount of curry powder used in this recipe isn't enough to give it too much of a curry flavor. If you are a fan of curry add more. We felt there is too much spaghetti squash in this recipe, but that's a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
We loved this! I used a little less squash and a little more macaroni, and I used brown rice instead of white. Next time I might throw in some barley instead of lentils just to change it up, but it's great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Delicious! I used black beans instead of rice, and no macaroni. It was simply delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Very tasty and very healthy - easy to adjust as well. I didn't use squash, but I did use orzo and brown rice. A beautiful mix of colors and flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This recipe is really worth the time it takes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was excellent, but I must say a few things. Eaten right after cooking, it was pretty unappetizing seeing as the spaghetti squash had not taken in any of the flavors yet. After a night of marinating in the fridge the flavors came together WONDERFULLY, and this dish became 1000x better. I omitted the macaroni and simply upped the rice (I used short-grain brown) to balance out the textures. I also upped the liquid content just a bit because I love me a brothy soup. (: Overall quite a good dish. I would be wary to feed it to a large group - if I was to do so I would be sure to let it sit for at least one day in the fridge if not more and then reheat to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States