Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Since I am making this soup in October here in Michigan, I substituted apple cider from the cider mill for the orange juice. I added a peeled apple to the onion and garlic (OK, I used two cloves of garlic). Rather than boiling the squash, I chose to cook it covered on low heat w/ the onion/garlic/apple until it was soft (about 45 minutes). I like soup w/ texture, so I reserved a portion of the veggies before pureeing the rest. I cooked the rice in the broth then added to the pot. The first time I made the soup, I tried cooking the rice in w/ the puree, and found that the rice remained too firm even after boiling for an hour, so cooking it in the broth is the way to go. I made this soup for some vegetarian friends using a vegetable stock for the chicken, and it was awesome. I really like this soup w/ cucumber slices - the cool crunch is a nice contrast. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great easy recipe. I added chicken to make it even more hearty for my husband. My toddler loved it as well. I've made it over and over for friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My family loved this! I was in the mood for a dish to serve over basmati rice, so I steamed the squash in some vegetable broth adding just enough liquid, then mashing it. I added cubed firm tofu and jalpeno to the onion mixture. I put it all together with coconut milk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I made a few adjustments based on what I had, and I think it turned out great! I used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1, because I love it; my husband went and drank all the orange juice right before I went to make it, so I ended up using apple juice instead and I think it worked really well. I also didn't have wild rice, so I just used brown rice and I think it's pretty good. This is definitely a recipe I'll come back to and play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
To save on dishes and extra steps, I made this delicious recipe using only one soup pot, one soup bowl, and the blender. You will appreciate this if you have no dishwasher :) Caramelize the onion with a little butter and brown sugar in a large soup pot. Add in crushed garlic when the onion is almost fully cooked. Remove cooked onions from pot and set aside to cool in a soup bowl. Boil the chicken stock in the same large pot, reduce heat and cook the squash until it is tender. Remove from heat. Use a masher to mash squash while it is still in the pot. Add orange juice curry and any other seasoning. Let all the ingredients cool off a bit. Combine the caramelized onion with the squash broth in blender and blend. Return to the large pot. Heat to a boil, add rice, reduce heat, and adjust seasoning. Once the rice is cooked the soup is complete. Tip: the more pale the squash is at the grocery store, the less ripe it is, so choose one with more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It tasted great and was not too complicated to make. My only substitution was that I did not have wild rice, so I used white rice instead. It was fine, but I suspect wild rice would have added even more flavor. As a time saving device, and a "dirty fewer dishes" device, I cooked the rice in one pot, and I simmered everything else in another pot, rather than boiling the squash, draining water, then adding everything else. It turned out really well- I just simmered everything together for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
really good. the second time I made it I threw in some (too much) ginger. I think it would good with a just a bit of it, though. :) We love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is one of the best soup recipies I've ever made and I make alot of soup. I did add a dash of ceyanne peper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWNEWCOMB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have made a ton of this already and absolutely love it. Very filling, works as a meal on it's own. I add extra hot curry powder to give it a bit more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
A wonderful soup...the only changes I made was to puree only half of squash and onions to add texture. I also added a can of chickpeas to add a little protein. I thought the orange juice would give it a funny taste, but it gave it the perfect amount of an acidity needed to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States