Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
To save on dishes and extra steps, I made this delicious recipe using only one soup pot, one soup bowl, and the blender. You will appreciate this if you have no dishwasher :) Caramelize the onion with a little butter and brown sugar in a large soup pot. Add in crushed garlic when the onion is almost fully cooked. Remove cooked onions from pot and set aside to cool in a soup bowl. Boil the chicken stock in the same large pot, reduce heat and cook the squash until it is tender. Remove from heat. Use a masher to mash squash while it is still in the pot. Add orange juice curry and any other seasoning. Let all the ingredients cool off a bit. Combine the caramelized onion with the squash broth in blender and blend. Return to the large pot. Heat to a boil, add rice, reduce heat, and adjust seasoning. Once the rice is cooked the soup is complete. Tip: the more pale the squash is at the grocery store, the less ripe it is, so choose one with more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I sort of made my own version of this soup, and it was if I might say, freaking awesome. Even my husband loved it and he's not a soup fan. Orange juice just didn't even sound good, so I left it out entirely. But the recipe still needs some acid, so I pureed 3 or 4 yellow tomatoes and a green apple in my blender and added that at the beginning. I also carmelized 2 red onions in butter and brown sugar and added those. The box of wild rice I just threw in, no need to cook it separately. I used six cups of chicken broth, an entire large squash which I steamed first and then pureed before adding to the soup, and a whole tablespoon of curry powder. It was just amazing--the flavor had so much depth, and oddly you couldn't taste curry--it just sort of blended in as if it belonged there. IMO you can't go wrong with curry, butternut, and wild rice!Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Since I am making this soup in October here in Michigan, I substituted apple cider from the cider mill for the orange juice. I added a peeled apple to the onion and garlic (OK, I used two cloves of garlic). Rather than boiling the squash, I chose to cook it covered on low heat w/ the onion/garlic/apple until it was soft (about 45 minutes). I like soup w/ texture, so I reserved a portion of the veggies before pureeing the rest. I cooked the rice in the broth then added to the pot. The first time I made the soup, I tried cooking the rice in w/ the puree, and found that the rice remained too firm even after boiling for an hour, so cooking it in the broth is the way to go. I made this soup for some vegetarian friends using a vegetable stock for the chicken, and it was awesome. I really like this soup w/ cucumber slices - the cool crunch is a nice contrast. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This soup is amazing! I microwaved the squash because I was too lazy to peel it. Added a bit of cinnamon, which plays with the curry quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The soup was very good. Boiling the squash in the chicken broth saves a big step and preserves a lot more vitamins and flavor. Also the amount of orange juice was possibly a bit much? It added a little too much. I used more curry but curries vary a lot. It's a good recipe to "play" with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really enjoyed this unique soup. Added some fresh Ginger and apples in place of orange juice. Put diced onion right in with the squash since you puree it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Delicious! Makes great leftovers too. I followed the ingedient list, but cooked it the easy way - just threw everything in the slow cooker. Taking a cue from some slow cooker recipes with similar ingredients I put it on low for 8 hours and it came out great! The four is because I thought it needed some more flavor and so I mixed in more curry powder when it was done. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmore, Vermont, USA
Living In: Saitama, Saitama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I made a few adjustments based on what I had, and I think it turned out great! I used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1, because I love it; my husband went and drank all the orange juice right before I went to make it, so I ended up using apple juice instead and I think it worked really well. I also didn't have wild rice, so I just used brown rice and I think it's pretty good. This is definitely a recipe I'll come back to and play around with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It tasted great and was not too complicated to make. My only substitution was that I did not have wild rice, so I used white rice instead. It was fine, but I suspect wild rice would have added even more flavor. As a time saving device, and a "dirty fewer dishes" device, I cooked the rice in one pot, and I simmered everything else in another pot, rather than boiling the squash, draining water, then adding everything else. It turned out really well- I just simmered everything together for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Great taste and texture. I did cut the orange juice in half because it felt like it was too much, and I'm glad I did. ALSO, I cut the rice in half too, and I'm so glad I did. With just half the wild rice, it was a dense, thick soup -- with twice as much I think it would be more like sloppy rice than soup! I have made the recipe once without the rice at all, and it makes for a nice, regular squash soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States