Curried Wild Rice and Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This was a very pleasant recipe. I wasn't sure how much squash I had so I just added the broth and rice to the consistency that I wanted. I used only 1 tsp. curry just because I had scaled back the rest of the ingredients. I added 1/2 c. heavy cream just because I like my squash soup creamy. That was just enough. There was something missing, though. Couldn't put my finger on it. I will make this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The soup was very good. Boiling the squash in the chicken broth saves a big step and preserves a lot more vitamins and flavor. Also the amount of orange juice was possibly a bit much? It added a little too much. I used more curry but curries vary a lot. It's a good recipe to "play" with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My wife loved this soup! I got one bowl out of a double recipe?!? Very good and simple. Will definately make it again, but only four out of five because it didn't blow my mind. Just really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It tasted great and was not too complicated to make. My only substitution was that I did not have wild rice, so I used white rice instead. It was fine, but I suspect wild rice would have added even more flavor. As a time saving device, and a "dirty fewer dishes" device, I cooked the rice in one pot, and I simmered everything else in another pot, rather than boiling the squash, draining water, then adding everything else. It turned out really well- I just simmered everything together for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My husband and I didn't particularly care for this dish, we just thought it was okay....however, our 23 month old absolutely loved it....go figure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
really good. the second time I made it I threw in some (too much) ginger. I think it would good with a just a bit of it, though. :) We love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The flavor of the orange juice overpowered the soup. Next time, I will omit the orange juice to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I did a few things different- I used a box of frozen squash, and I did not put it in a blender or food processor. I used only 1/4 c. of oj too. This was very good, even my 4 year old daughter had seconds! If you want it heartier, I bet chicken would be great in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I sort of made my own version of this soup, and it was if I might say, freaking awesome. Even my husband loved it and he's not a soup fan. Orange juice just didn't even sound good, so I left it out entirely. But the recipe still needs some acid, so I pureed 3 or 4 yellow tomatoes and a green apple in my blender and added that at the beginning. I also carmelized 2 red onions in butter and brown sugar and added those. The box of wild rice I just threw in, no need to cook it separately. I used six cups of chicken broth, an entire large squash which I steamed first and then pureed before adding to the soup, and a whole tablespoon of curry powder. It was just amazing--the flavor had so much depth, and oddly you couldn't taste curry--it just sort of blended in as if it belonged there. IMO you can't go wrong with curry, butternut, and wild rice!Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is one of the best soup recipies I've ever made and I make alot of soup. I did add a dash of ceyanne peper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWNEWCOMB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States